JANUARY 18: The Daily Flashback


1778: English navigator Captain James Cook discovered the Hawaiian Islands, which he called the “Sandwich Islands.”
1896: The x-ray machine was exhibited for the first time.
1928: At Leningrad’s Maliy Opera Theatre, Dmitri Shostakovich’s opera The Nose premiered.
1939: Louis Armstrong and his orchestra recorded “Jeepers Creepers.”
1943: U.S. commercial bakers stopped selling sliced bread. Only whole loaves were sold during the ban until the end of World War II.
1944: New York City’s Metropolitan Opera House held its first jazz concert, featuring Louis Armstrong, Benny Goodman, Lionel Hampton, Artie Shaw, Roy Eldridge and Jack Teagarden.
1960: Johnny Preston’s “Running Bear” hit No. 1 for the first of three weeks.
1964: The plans for the original World Trade Center in New York were unveiled to the public.
1965: Paul Simon dropped out of law school to pursue music full-time.
1969: Neil Young recorded “Cowgirl in the Sand.”
1974: Bad Company was formed by Free’s Paul Rodgers and Simon Kirke, Mott the Hoople’s Mick Ralphs and King Crimson’s Boz Burrell.
1975: Mayor Richard Daley of Chicago officially declared today to be Bobby Vinton Day.
1980: Capricorn Records filed for bankruptcy.

1989: The fourth annual Rock and Roll Hall of Fame induction ceremonies were held in New York City. Inductees included Dion, Otis Redding, the Rolling Stones, The Temptations and Stevie Wonder.
1991: Due to financial problems, Eastern Airlines shut down after 62 years in business.
1995: The “yahoo.com” domain was created.
1996: Lisa Marie Presley filed for divorce from Michael Jackson.
2008: Clay Aiken makes his Broadway debut in Monty Python’s Spamalot.
2009: A wide range of top musicians including Mary J. Blige, U2, Beyoncé, Bruce Springsteen, Garth Brooks, Sheryl Crow, will.i.am, James Taylor, John Legend, John Mellencamp, Pete Seeger, Shakira, Usher and Stevie Wonder perform at the “We Are One” concert in Washington, DC, to celebrate the upcoming inauguration of Barack Obama.

1892: Oliver Hardy
1904: Cary Grant
1913: Danny Kaye
1941: David Ruffin
1944: “Legs” Larry Smith
1956: Mark Collie
1971: Jonathan Davis

2015: Dallas Taylor
2016: Glenn Frey

Custom Stickers, Die Cut Stickers, Bumper Stickers - Sticker Mule
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.