NOVEMBER 6: The Daily Flashback


1860: Abraham Lincoln was elected to be the sixteenth president of the United States.
1861: Jefferson Davis was elected as the president of the Confederacy in the U.S.
1894: William C. Hooker received a patent for the mousetrap.
1935: Edwin H. Armstrong announced his development of FM broadcasting.
1952: The first hydrogen bomb was exploded at Eniwetok Atoll in the Pacific Ocean.
1961: Jimmy Dean’s “Big Bad John” hit No. 1 for the first of five weeks.
1964: The Hank Williams biopic “Your Cheatin’ Heart” premiered in Nashville starring George Hamilton.
1965: Jefferson Airplane performed a benefit for the San Francisco Mime Troupe. It was the first show produced by the soon-to-be-legendary promoter Bill Graham.
1968: The Monkees movie “Head” was released.
1970: At Nipmuc Regional High School in Mendon, Massachusetts, Aerosmith played their first-ever gig.
1971: Cher scored her first No. 1 hit as a solo artist with “Gypsys, Tramps & Thieves.”
1975: The Sex Pistols played their first-ever gig at St. Martin’s College of Art in London, opening for the band Bazooka Joe, led by Stuart Goddard (who later became Adam Ant).
1976: Blue Öyster Cult landed their biggest hit as “(Don’t Fear) The Reaper” peaked at No. 12 in the US.

1979: Paul Simon kicked off his British tour at London’s Hammersmith Odeon by offering to buy everyone in the audience a drink. The tab came to about $2,000.
1990: Madonna released “Justify My Love,” which stirred controversy when MTV banned the video.
1995: Art Modell, the owner of the Cleveland Browns, announced plans to move his team to Baltimore.
2001: Britney Spears’ album Britney was released.
2005: The Four Seasons musical Jersey Boys opensed on Broadway to rave reviews.
2008: Thanks to internet voting, Rick Astley won the Best Act Ever honor at the MTV Europe Music Awards. “We’ve been well and truly Rickrolled,” said the show’s producer.

1814: Adolphe Sax
1854: John Philip Sousa
1860: Jan Paderewski
1916: Ray Conniff
1931: Mike Nichols
1932: Stonewall Jackson
1938: P.J. Proby
1941: Guy Clark
1948: Glenn Frey
1964: Corey Glover
1970: Ethan Hawke

1972: Billy Murcia
1989: Dickie Goodman
1997: Epic Soundtracks
2007: Hank Thompson

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.