OCTOBER 16: The Daily Flashback


1793: During the French Revolution, Queen Marie Antoinette was beheaded after being convicted of treason.
1829: In Boston, the first modern hotel in America opened. The Tremont Hotel had 170 rooms that rented for $2 a day and included four meals.
1847: Charlotte Bronte’s “Jane Eyre” was published in London.
1859: Abolitionist John Brown led a raid on Harper’s Ferry.
1916: Margaret Sanger opened the first birth control clinic in New York City.
1944: Lloyd Douglas’ “The Robe” was published.
1951: Little Richard recorded for the first time, laying down tracks at Atlanta radio station WGST; four singles from the session were released the following year.
1954: Elvis Presley made his radio debut on the “Louisiana Hayride.”
1962: At the Howard Theatre in Washington, DC, Motown Records launched their first package tour, the Motortown Revue. Mary Wells and The Contours are the big draws; lower on the bill are Marvin Gaye, The Supremes and Little Stevie Wonder.
1965: The Beatles were honored with the Order of the British Empire by Queen Elizabeth.
1968: The Jimi Hendrix Experience released Electric Ladyland, the third and final album by the band.
1972: A statement by Creedence Clearwater Revival announced the group’s break up.
1976: Disc jockey Rick Dees hit No. 1 in the US with “Disco Duck,” the last novelty song to top the Hot 100.

1978: Poland’s Karol Josef Wojtyla was elected Pope John Paul II.
1987: In Midland, Texas, rescuers freed Jessica McClure from the abandoned well where she had been trapped for 58 hours.
1991: Red Hot Chili Peppers kicked off their Blood Sugar Sex Magik Tour in Madison, Wisconsin. The opening acts were Smashing Pumpkins and a new band called Pearl Jam.
1995: The Million Man March took place in Washington, DC.
1999: Sarah Lee Guthrie, daughter of folk singer Arlo Guthrie, married Johnny Irion.
2012: Darius Rucker was inducted into the Grand Ole Opry, becoming just the third African American to join the club, following cast member DeFord Bailey and Charley Pride, who was inducted in 1993.

1854: Oscar Wilde
1888: Eugene O’Neill
1923: Bert Kaempfert
1935: Sugar Pie DeSanto
1938: Nico
1947: Bob Weir
1958: Tim Robbins
1960: Bob Mould
1962: Flea
1977: John Mayer

1969: Leonard Chess
1973: Gene Krupa
1990: Art Blakey
2001: Etta Jones
2014: Tim Hauser

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.