NEW CONCERT NEWS

0
Reverend Horton Heat
Reverend Horton Heat returns with an all-star line-up for his Holiday Hayride

By Greg Haymes
Photograph by Ed Conway

Down in Woodstock, Colony has beefed up its calendar with a batch of new concerts, including Jim Weider’s Project Percolator at 8pm on Saturday, September 1 ($20 in advance; $25 at the door); Woodstock fave Simi Stone at 8pm on Sunday, September 2 ($15 in advance; $20 at the door); veteran singer-songwriter Peter Case at 8pm on Wednesday, September 19 ($15 in advance; $20 at the door); a David Bromberg solo show at 8pm on Saturday, December 1 ($45 & $60); and the second annual Horton’s Holiday Hayride featuring Reverend Horton Heat, Junior Brown, The Blasters and Big Sandy at 7pm on Sunday, December 9 ($50).

The schedule at the Upstate Concert Hall in Clifton Park has been bolstered with the addition of five new shows, including hip-hopster YBN Nahmir at 8pm on Thursday, August 23 (on sale now; $22.50 in advance; $25 at the door); We Came as Romans with Bad Omens and Ghost Chant at 8pm on Friday, October 5 (on sale Friday; $17.50 in advance; $20 at the door); Silverstein’s 15th anniversary tour with Hawthorne Heights, As Cities Burn and Capstan at 7pm on Wednesday, November 14 (on sale Friday; $20 in advance; $23 at the door); Reel Big Fish with Ballyhoo! and We Are the Union at 7pm on Saturday, November 24 (on sale Friday; $20 in advance; $23 at the door); and Sublime tribute band Badfish with Roots of Creation and Little Stranger at 8pm on Thursday, January 3 (on sale Friday; $20 in advance; $23 at the door).

The folks at The Linda have made a number of new concert announcements, including Ghana-born drummer-composer Paa Kow at 8pm on Thursday September 6 ($15); ska pioneers The Skatalites with Taj Weekes & Adowa at 8pm on Friday, September 14 ($25 in advance; $30 at the door); and the bluegrass/folk/Americana Nell & Jim Band at 8pm on Friday, September 21 ($20).

MY Morning Jacket multi-instrumentalist Carl Broemel is slated to pull into Levon Helm Studios in Woodstock for a show on Saturday, September 22 to celebrate the release of his third solo album, Wished Out. Opening the show at 8pm will be Steelism. Tickets go on sale at 10am on Friday (August 3), priced at $25 & $40.

After being postponed due to a March snowstorm, the traditional acoustic music duo of Allison de Groot & Tatiana Hargreaves have finally nailed down a make-up date – 8pm on Thursday, October 18 – for their concert at the Cock ‘n Bull in Galway. Tickets are $10.

IN CASE YOU MISSED IT: Six new concerts have been announced for the Troy Savings Bank Music HallBrett Dennen, The Klezmatics, Lizz Wright, Trey McLaughlin & the Sounds of Zamar, the Maria Schneider Orchestra and Lunasa with Natalie Merchant. Tickets go on sale at 10am on Friday (August 3).

Gregg Allman’s former guitarist and bandleader Scott Sharrard is headed into the Round Lake Auditorium in Round Lake for a concert at 7pm on Saturday, September 8. Tickets are on sale now, priced at $25.

The Hollow Bar + Kitchen in Albany welcomes 888 at 9pm on Friday, September 7 ($10 in advance; $12 at the door) and Front Country at 8pm on Sunday, November 11 ($10 in advance; $12 at the door).

In Hudson, Club Helsinki will play host to the Tarbox Ramblers at 8pm on Sunday, August 26 ($15) and Wye Oak at 8pm on Monday, October 8 ($25 & $30). And if you missed them at the Bearsville Theater and The Egg last week, the Devon Allman Project featuring Duane Betts makes a stop at Club Helsinki at 8pm on Thursday, September 27 ($35 & $55).

Louisiana born and bred contemporary country singer Dylan Scott steps into the spotlight at Rivers Casino & Resort’s Event Center in Schenectady at 8pm on Saturday, November 10. Tickets are available now, priced at $25, $35, $45 & $55.

SOLD OUT: The concert by the all-star trio I’m With Her at Levon Helm Studios in Woodstock on Saturday, September 15 is now officially sold out.

Greg Farley (formerly of the Felice Brothers) is headed into the Parish Public House at 9pm on Saturday (August 4) to preview selections of his upcoming solo album debut, Taker Easy, due for release next month.

Contemporary country singer David Nail steps into the spotlight at Vapor in Saratoga Springs at 8pm on Thursday, October 18 in support of his upcoming album, Only This and Nothing More, slated for release next month. Tickets are on sale now, priced at $20.

OPENERS: At Levon Helm Studios in Woodstock, Matt Sucich will open for Jesse Colin Young on Saturday (August 4), while Kim Anderson will warm up for Lee Ann Womack on Saturday, August 11.

Custom Stickers, Die Cut Stickers, Bumper Stickers - Sticker Mule

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.