Nippertown Recording Studio Report


TRISKELE: The four members of the Capital Region acoustic Celtic quartet – Sharon Wheeler (vocals, guitar, mandolin, accordion), Noeleen Whelan (vocals, guitar, bodhran), Jennifer Kilinski (vocals, flute, percussion) and Christine Taylor (vocals, bass) – are about to release their sophomore CD, “Look Back, Don’t Stare.” They’ll celebrate the new album with a CD release party at the Parting Glass in Saratoga Springs at 8pm on Friday. Admission is $5.

ROB JONAS: Americana singer-songwriter Jonas has wrapped up the recording of his upcoming sophomore album, “Another Lonely Road,” the follow-up to his album debut “Take Me Anywhere.” The new nine-song album was engineered by Frank Moscowitz at Collar City Sound in Troy. Jonas and his band – guitarist JV Abbey, bassist Mike Guzzo and drummer Mark Adamo – will celebrate with a CD release party at Caffe Lena in Saratoga Springs at 7pm on Sunday, May 15. Tix are $10 in advance; $12 at the door. Leading up to the album’s official release, you can also catch Jonas at Tierra Coffee Roasters in Albany on Monday, May 9; McGeary’s in Albany on Wednesday, May 11; and the Saratoga Automobile Museum in Saratoga Springs on Saturday, May 14.

POTTER’S FIELD: The eclectic Albany rock quartet – featuring vocalist-guitarist Gabe Clevenger, guitarist Ed Piniazek, bassist Nate Hart and drummer Mike Piniazek – has completed recording with Carl Blackwood at Warming Room Recording Studio in Albany, and they’re getting ready to release their debut full-length album, “The Verdict’s Inn.”

DAVID KRAAI & AMY LABER: Earlier this month, the Hudson Valley Americana-country-folk duo released digital version of their new single – featuring “From New Orleans to the Moon” and “Border Song” – but apparently we’re going to have to wait a bit longer for the promised seven-inch vinyl version – slated to be packaged in a limited edition, individually numbered, picture sleeve with a digital download card, as well as a poster. Stay tuned…

THE REALSIDE: Originally the solo pop-rock studio project of Tennessee transplant Terry McClain of Guiltless Cult, the Realside has evolved into an expanded acoustic trio that also features bassist Chris Neuhaus and percussionist Nate Glass. They’ve been holed up in the studio recording a new 19-track album, “Shadows Until Light,” which is slated for release later this spring.

If you’ve got news about an upcoming Nippertown recording project, send it along to We’d be glad to help spread the word…

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.