Posts Tagged ‘opera’

Upcoming concerts in Kingston

Friday, September 11th, 2009

Kingston isn’t all that far away, not for a real music fan. It’s just a short jaunt down Thruway from Nippertown, and the city’s two main concert halls – the Ulster Performing Arts Center and the Bardavon 1869 Opera House House – are hosting quite a few excellent concerts this season.

Sure, some of the acts – Ben Folds and Lyle Lovett, for instance – will also be coming to Albany for shows at The Egg. But it’s also looking like Kingston is as close as some of ’em – the Black Crowes and Lucinda Williams – might be getting this time around.

Anyway, we just thought you might want to know what’s happening in Kingston. So here are the schedules. Gas it up and go.

ULSTER PERFORMING ARTS CENTER
Friday, September 18, 8pm: The Black Crowes, Truth & Salvage Co.
Friday, October 9, 8pm: Ben Folds, Kate Miller-Heidke
Friday, October 16, 8pm: Lewis Black
Friday, November 6, 8pm: Jackson Browne
Sunday, November 15, 7pm: Lyle Lovett & His Large Band
Friday, April 9, 8pm: David Sedaris
Saturday, April 10, TBA: Hammer of the Gods

BARDAVON 1869 OPERA HOUSE
Thursday, October 8, 7:30pm: Lucinda Williams, Buick 6
Saturday, October 24, 8pm: Rickie Lee Jones
Sunday, March 28, 7pm: Los Lobos, Leo Kottke
Sunday, May 16, 7pm: Pat Metheny

Advertisement

The Future of Opera

Friday, August 21st, 2009

This is an excerpt of the background video created for Wagner’s “Siegfried” by Urano Films, using 14 simultaneous projectors. It was presented at Ciudad de las Ciencias y Artes (City of the Arts and the Sciences) in Valencia, Spain, last summer.

Conservatives may scoff, but opera has always combined all the art forms, so why not video? This is eyepopping stuff and it works spectacularly with the music.

SIEGFRIED from Martin Inda on Vimeo.

Cartoonist John CaldwellThe Cock'N'Bull RestaurantCaffe LenaJim Gaudet and the Railroad BoysHolly & EvanAdvertise on Nippertown!Hudson SoundsLeave Regular Radio BehindThe LindaAlbany PoetsArtist Charles HaymesBerkshire On StageMohawk Hudson Humane Society