Archive for the ‘Media Watch’ Category

ANOTHER Big Thank You to Metroland Readers!

Friday, April 18th, 2014

Metroland Readers' Poll

We were mighty jazzed last week when Metroland unveiled its annual Readers’ Poll, revealing that astute Metroland readers had voted Nippertown.com as the Best Local Arts Website, as well as strong finishes as well as second place in the Best Local Arts Coverage category and the third spot as Best Local Community Website.

But apparently, the editors mistakenly neglected to include the category of Best Local Music Website when they printed the results. They made the correction in this week’s issue, and Nippertown.com came out on top, edging out our pals at Keep Albany Boring and CRUMBS.net. So we’d like to offer another big – somewhat belated – thanks to all who keep the local music scene alive ‘n’ thrivin’ – no matter who you voted for, the Local 518 is the big winner.

Thanks, y’all.

Advertisement

FLASHBACK: A Look Back at Best-Of Readers’ Polls of the Past

Friday, April 11th, 2014

Metroland’s annual readers’ poll was published on Thursday (April 10). Capital Region Living has recently published its annual readers’ poll. And The Times Union is currently asking you to weigh in on their 2014 readers’ poll.

After scrutinizing them, there are just two things we can say:

1.) The more things change, the more they stay the same. Last year, The Times Union printed a round-up of 28 winners – everything from Best Hot Dog (Gus’s, Troy) to Best Ski Resort (Jiminy Peak Mountain Resort, Hancock) – that have won their categories for five consecutive years.

2.) The more things change, the more things change. From the ever-evolving business landscape to fickle allegiances, it seems as though the Nippertown scene is in a constant state of flux.

So we thought it might be fun to dig into the archives to take a peek at a few randomly selected categories of Local 518 readers’ polls from years past.

Here’s some of what we found:

(more…)

A Great Big Thank You to Metroland Readers

Thursday, April 10th, 2014

It's The Weekend!

The people have spoken…

Ah, yes, we’ve uncorked the champagne, and the bubbly is flowing in celebration of the results of the Metroland Readers’ Poll in today’s issue (Thursday, April 10) of our fave weekly.

And it seems at though we hit for the cycle this year, with first, second and third place finishes in media categories.

For the fourth consecutive year, Metroland readers bestowed top honors on Nippertown.com, voting us as the Best Local Arts Website. As Metroland commented, “We’re guessing Nippertown won — and they were the clear winner — because they’re timely and comprehensive. And cool.” Aw, shucks…

UPDATE, 4/14/14: Nippertown.com was also named Best Local Music Website, edging out our pals at Keep Albany Boring and CRUMBS.net. (Apparently, the results were misplaced and did not run in the print edition, but have now been added to the Metroland Readers’ Poll 2014 website.)

We’re just as proud of the results in the Best Local Arts Coverage category, where we were competing against the Big Boys of Print – Metroland, The Daily Gazette, The Times Union, etc. – and grabbed second place, just behind our friends at Metroland.

And Nippertown.com also grabbed a bronze medal in the Best Local Community Website category, snagging a third place finish behind our pals at All Over Albany and Keep Albany Boring.

So thank you, astute and discerning Metroland readers, for showing us some big love. And we promise to do all that we can to continue to make Nippertown.com your go-to click-through for all area music, arts and entertainment info.

Other Voices, Other Rooms…

Friday, March 28th, 2014

From The Daily Gazette: Bill Buell’s feature story on Nipper, who’s been standing guard and keeping vigil over downtown Albany for 60 years…

From the Huffington Post: Katherine Brooks offers her list of “13 of the Best New York Art Spots That Aren’t in NYC,” including Saratoga Springs’ Yaddoo Artist Community, Beacon’s Dia: Beacon, Ghent’s OMI International Arts Center and New Windsor’s Storm King Arts Center.

From Wired: Michael Calore’s story about the ways in which Phish bassist Mike Gordon is playfully bending the rock concert rules on his current audience-interactive tour, which makes a stop at the Bearsville Theater in Woodstock on Sunday night (March 30).

From WGXC-FM: A podcast of Tim Livingston’s monthly “Radio Warfare” radio show, originally broadcast on Tuesday, March 25 features lots of vintage garage rock, classic punk, power pop and selections from local faves such as Pete Labonne and Nightmares for a Week. Fab bonus: David Werner’s “Whizz Kids.” Rock on…

From Deep Trance Art Blog: Local 518 artist George Guarino has posted some cool photos of his digital collages that were projected four-stories tall on the outdoor walls of Upstate Artists Guild in conjunction with the performance art/installation “Aleister Takes Over the Machine” at the Machine Artists Co-Op last week as part of the First Friday arts walk.

From Kickstarter: Pete Mason – regular Nippertown contributor – has cranked up a campaign to raise funds for his upcoming children’s book, “A Well Traveled Dog,” the first in a series of books about his trusty canine companion, Halley. Mason has previously authored “PhanArt: The Art of the Fans of Phish” and “The Evolution of the War Film Genre: From Westerns and World War II to Vietnam.” Deadline to contribute is Tuesday, April 8.

Media Watch: March Musical Madness

Tuesday, March 18th, 2014

Upstate Live: March Madness

In the spirit of basketball bracket-mania, the fine folks at Upstate Live have concocted their own musical variation of March Madness.

“This is our first year in creating this tournament-style competition between artists and bands that originated in Upstate New York,” explains managing editor Pete Mason, “and we think with Upstate New York’s history of incredible musicians, we have the potential for an interesting style of March Madness.”

They’ve divided Upstate New York into four regions and selected 16 bands from each region. The competitors were chosen from throughout musical history, including such veterans as Blue Oyster Cult, Pete Seeger, Ronnie James Dio, Rick James and Nippertown’s own Blotto. Readers are asked to vote online for their favorites, and first round voting will conclude on Thursday (March 20); the second round begins on Friday.

Here are the complete bracket pairings for the first round of the 518 East Regionals with the seedings noted in parenthesis:

(more…)

Other Voices, Other Rooms…

Friday, February 28th, 2014

From The New York Times: If you liked Xu Bing’s “Phoenix” at MASS MoCA in North Adams, you’re gonna love ‘em in the Cathedral Church of St. John the Divine in NYC…

From All Over Albany: A story about the recent digitization of more than 100 years of RPI’s student newspaper, The Polytechnic, highlighted by Bob Cunningham’s fab review of the Doors concert at the Frosh Fling Weekend back in 1967.

From Bartleby Snopes: In case you didn’t realize it, Michael Janairo – former arts editor and columnist at The Times Union and now the Assistant Director for Engagement at Skidmore College’s Tang Museum – is also a fiction writer, and his short story “The Duck” is currently in the running for Story of the Month.

From State of Mind: Nippertown contributor J Hunter reviews the Pedrito Martinez Group in concert at Guantanamera in NYC last month.

Flashback: “The Joey Reynolds Show” on WKBW-AM, 2/24/64

Tuesday, February 25th, 2014

Joey Reynolds

FLASHBACK:
50 years ago.
Buffalo, NY.
WKBW-AM.
“The Joey Reynolds Show.”
Just GO HERE and listen…

The white plastic radio at my bedside was covered with purple wax, so that I couldn’t change the station. Not that I’d even think of it anyway. I was a loyal KB listener as well as a card-carrying member of Joey Reynolds’ Royal Order of the Night People, which required the initiation rite of burning the wax from a purple candle over your radio’s tuner.

A tip o’ the hat to fellow Buffalonian Paul Rapp and the fine staff at “The Splatto Festival” for unearthing this tasty audio treat.

Other Voices, Other Rooms…

Friday, February 14th, 2014

From the Rogovoy Report: Seth Rogovoy writes about, “My Maggie,” following the death of his partner Maggie Estep earlier this week.

From All Over Albany: An interview with David Alan Miller, conductor of the Grammy Award-winning Albany Symphony Orchestra…

From Keep Albany Boring: If you haven’t made it over to check out the Low Beat in Albany yet, you’ll find a nice array of photos from the new nightspot’s Tuesday (February 11) opening…

From Albany Proper: A photo array chronicling last Saturday’s (February 8) final show at Valentine’s Music Hall and the subsequent dismantling of the club.

Caffe LenaHolly & EvanCartoonist John CaldwellAdvertise on Nippertown!The LindaArtist Charles HaymesBerkshire On StageKeep Albany BoringLeave Regular Radio BehindHudson SoundsMohawk Hudson Humane SocietyCapital District Habitat For Humanity