COMIN’ SOON: New Concert Announcements

August 16th, 2017, 12:00 pm by Greg

By Greg Haymes

In support of their upcoming album, Outrage Is Now!, slated for release on September 8, Death From Above is headed into the Upstate Concert Hall in Clifton Park on Monday, October 23. The Beaches open the show at 8pm. Priced at $27.50 in advance; $30.50 at the door, tickets go on sale at 10am on Friday (August 18).

Post continues below...
Advertisement

“Steady On: Celebrating Lilith Fair at 20” comes to The Linda at 8pm on Saturday, October 14, with Sloan Wainwright leading a quartet of female singer-songwriters including Lara Herscovitch, Sharon Goldman and Amy Soucy. Tickets are $22. Also upcoming at The Linda is the return of the blues-gospel Alexis P. Suter Band at 8pm on Saturday, October 21 ($20) and genre-bending indie-folk trio The Accidentals (Sav Buist, Katie Larson and Michael Dause) with Jake Allen at 8pm on Friday, November 17 ($15).

Club Helsinki in Hudson presents John S. Hall (former and bandleader of King Missle) and his new band Unusual Squirrel at 7pm on Sunday, September 10 as the next installment of the Rogovoy Salon, hosted by Seth Rogovoy. Tickets are $15. Club Helsinki also welcomes back the Backdoor Boys’ gay cabaret at 8pm on Saturday, September 23, as a benefit for Columbia County Democrats ($TBA); and Vetiver with Johnny Irion at 8pm on Thursday, October 12 ($15).

Country music hitmaker Travis Tritt headlines the Columbia County Fair in Chatham at 7pm on Sunday, September 3. Free with $15 fair admission.

IN CASE YOU MISSED IT: Terry Adams and his current incarnation of NRBQ headline the inaugural Hudson SummerFest at the Henry Hudson Riverfront Park in Hudson with Black Mountain Symphony, the Zolla Boys, the Matchstick Architects, Too Blue and the Fabulous Versatones rounding out the one-day festival’s line-up.

Albany’s Hollow Bar + Kitchen welcomes Midnight North featuring Grahame Lesh (yes, the son of Grateful Dead bassist Phil Lesh) at 9pm on Tuesday, September 19 ($12 in advance; $15 at the door). Meanwhile, Tyler Childers – whose album Purgatory debuted this week at No. 1 on Billboard’s Heatseekers Albums chart; No. 17 on the Country Albums chart; and No. 4 on the Americana/Folk Albums chart – is bringing his tour to the Hollow on Saturday, October 21 (details TBA), and Consider the Source returns to the Hollow spotlight at 9pm on Friday, December 8 ($15).

Brooklyn Raga Massive puts an Indian spin on Terry Riley’s minimalist classic “In C” at Hudson Hall (formerly the Hudson Opera House) at 7pm on Friday, September 1. Tickets are $30 in advance; $35 at the door. Also the envelope-pushing string quartet Ethel returns to the Hall with a three-day stand of their new multimedia work, “Circus: Wandering City,” Friday-Sunday, September 15-17. Tickets are $35; $15 for students & children ages 18 & under.

IN CASE YOU MISSED IT: The reunited jazz-fusion/prog-rock pioneers Brand X will be headed into The Egg in Albany on their fall tour. Tickets go on sale to the general public on Friday (April 18).

Troy Ramey – a contestant on season 12 of NBC-TV’s “The Voice” – steps into the spotlight at the Parish Public House in Albany on Wednesday (August 23). Opening the show are Todd Michaelsen and Dark Honey. Tickets are $10.

OPENERS: Suzanne Santo opens for Willie Watson at Club Helsinki in Hudson at 8pm on Friday, October 27.

SOLD OUT: The concert by British cabaret singer Barb Jungr at the Ancram Opera House on Saturday (August 19) is now officially sold out… The Chris Robinson Brotherhood’s concert at the Bearsville Theater in Woodstock on Friday, August 25 is now officially sold out… Ray LaMontagne’s concert at the Troy Savings Bank Music Hall on Sunday, October 15 is now officially sold out.