COMIN’ SOON: New Concert Announcements

June 28th, 2017, 12:00 pm by Greg

By Greg Haymes

With sublime vocalist Margo Timmins at the microphone, Canadian blues/folk-rockers Cowboy Junkies are slated to step into the spotlight at Club Helsinki in Hudson at 8pm on Thursday, September 28. Tickets are on sale now, priced at $48 & $58.

Post continues below...
Advertisement

Led by the adventurous guitar master for David Bowie and The Cure, Reeves Gabrels & His Imaginary Friends at the Hangar on the Hudson in Troy at 8pm on Saturday, July 22. Ticket details TBA. Also at The Hangar, The North & South Dakotas play a benefit concert for Collar Works on Saturday, August. The Abyssmals open the show at 8pm. Tickets are $10 at the door.

And here’s a round-up of the many new and notable shows on Caffe Lena’s July concert calendar: Jonathan Edwards on Friday, July 7 ($25 in advance); Happy Traum & Del Rey on Saturday, July 8 ($24 in advance); bluegrass greats Frank Sollivan & Dirty Kitchen on Thursday, July 13 ($28 in advance); Triple Play on Friday, July 14 ($25 in advance); former October Project vocalist Mary Fahl on Saturday, July 15 ($28 in advance); bluegrass-meets-hip-hop band Gangstagrass on Sunday, July 16 ($20 in advance); The Ladles with Alice Howe on Thursday, July 20 ($16 in advance); the Roy Hurd Trio on Friday, July 21 ($18 in advance); Dan Bern & Marshall Crenshaw on Saturday, July 22 ($27 in advance); the Stray Birds on Tuesday, July 25 ($22 in advance); Old Salt Union with Chris Kasper on Thursday, July 27 ($16 in advance); the Sweet Remains on Friday, July 28 ($18 in advance); the legendary Peter Yarrow (making his Caffe Lena debut?!?) on Saturday, July 29 ($60 in advance); and Girls, Guns & Glory on Sunday, July 30 ($18 in advance). All tickets are $2 more at the door.

If you missed Hudson at SPAC’s Jazz Fest last weekend, you’ll have another chance to catch them in action when the supergroup – featuring Jack DeJohnnette, John Scofield, Larry Grenadier and John Medeski – plays the Bardavon 1869 Opera House in Poughkeepsie at 8pm on Wednesday, October 4. Tickets are $49, $59 & $79. Also headed into the Bardavon are Ani DiFranco at 8pm on Friday, October 6 ($50 & $65) and the contemporary country duo Thompson Square at 8pm on Saturday, November 4 ($36 & $46).

IN CASE YOU MISSED IT: In support of their latest album, The Navigator, Hurray for the Riff Raff are slated to march into The Egg with Xenia Rubinos opening the show. Tickets go on sale to the general public at 11am on Friday (June 30).

Led by quirky frontman Nic Offer, the NYC dance-punk band !!! is slated to take the stage in support of their new album, Shake the Shudder, at the Hollow Bar + Kitchen at 9pm on Wednesday, September 13. In support of their new Matador Records album, The Underside of Power, NYC gospel-punk band Algiers opens the show. Tickets are $10.27 in advance; $17 at the door.

The Alive at Five concert series in Albany’s Corning Preserve has added Anthony Fallacaro as the opening act for country singer Lindsey Ell at 5pm on Thursday, July 20.

Indie stalwarts Grizzly Bear celebrate the release of their new album Painted Ruins with a pair of concerts at BSP Kingston’s Back Room Theater in Kingston at 8pm on Tuesday & Wednesday, August 15 & 16. Priced at $40, tickets go on sale at 10am on Thursday (June 29).

IN CASE YOU MISSED IT: Melvin Seals & JGB will carry on the musical legacy of the Jerry Garcia Band at the Cohoes Music Hall. Tickets go on sale at 10am on Thursday (June 29).

Following their well-received opening slot performance for Umphrey’s McGee at the Palace earlier this year, Spafford returns to Greater Nippertown for a show of their own at Jupiter Hall in Guilderland at 8pm on Sunday, October 8. Tickets are on sale now, priced at $15 in advance; $18 at the door.

In addition to their slate of jazz concerts (which we previously announced) and classical recitals, Maverick Concerts in Woodstock also has some other offerings on their summer calendar including folk trio the Ladles at 8pm on Friday, July 7 ($10; $5 students; age 15 & under free); an evening of Indian ragas by bansuri flutist Steve Gorn & Friends at 8pm on Saturday, August 5 ($25 & $45); and veteran Woodstock folksinger Happy Traum & Friends at 8pm on Saturday, September 9 ($25 & $45).