Round-Up of SPAC’s 2017 Pop Concert Season

May 18th, 2017, 1:00 pm by Greg
Brad Paisley

Brad Paisley kicks off SPAC’s 2017 concert season tonight

Photograph by Andrzej Pilarczyk

Around Greater Nippertown, the launch of the Saratoga Performing Arts Center’s concert season is often considered the unofficial start of the summer, and today is the day.

Country star and ace guitar picker Brad Paisley and friends take the SPAC stage at 7pm tonight.

Post continues below...
Advertisement

Of course, SPAC is the summer residence of the New York City Ballet, the Philadelphia Orchestra and the Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center, all of which perform later in the summer.

And new President and CEO Elizabeth Sobol has already done a marvelous job bolstering SPAC’s performance calendar, with the new additions of the SPAC @ Caffe Lena series, the SPAC On Stage concert series and the FREE Caffe Lena @ SPAC concert series (just announced today). Yes, FREE concerts are back at SPAC…

That’s especially good news considering that the Live Nation Pop & Rock Concert Series is pricier than ever this summer. Eight concerts – nearly one-third of the 26 concerts on tap – boast a top ticket price in excess of $100, and the top ticket price of six more concerts is $95 or more. That’s mighty wallet-draining, and that’s not even including any of the myriad “handling charges”…

Here’s the (so far) complete schedule of pop concerts coming to SPAC for the summer of ’17:

LIVE NATION’S POP & ROCK CONCERT SERIES
Thursday, May 18: Brad Paisley, Dustin Lynch, Chase Bryant, Lindsay Ell: $30 (lawn), $45.25 & $59.75
Saturday, June 3: FLY92 SummerJam Featuring Flo Rida, Sabrina Carpenter, Bebe Rexha, Daniel Skye, Hey Violet, Max & the Party Pupils: $20 (lawn), $25, $35, $45 & $65
Friday, June 16: Dave Matthews & Tim Reynolds: $40.50 (lawn), $85 & $95
Saturday, June 17: Dave Matthews & Tim Reynolds: $40.50 (lawn), $85 & $95
Sunday, June 18: Train, O.A.R., Natasha Bedingfield: $25 (lawn), $29.50, $39.50, $59.50 & $79.50
Tuesday, June 20: Dead & Company: $40 (lawn), $75.50, $99.50 & $149.50
Saturday, July 1: Third Eye Blind, Silversun Pickups: $20 (lawn), $39.95, $49.95 & $96
Monday, July 3: Tedeschi Trucks Band, the Wood Brothers, Hot Tuna: $25, $39.50, $49.50, $69.50 & $89.50
Monday, July 10: Nickelback, Daughtry, Shaman’s Harvest: $25 (lawn), $40, $69, $89 & $125
Sunday, July 16: The Moody Blues: $40.50, $50.50, $70.50, $90.50 & $126
Tuesday, July 18: Foreigner, Cheap Trick, Jason Bonham’s Led Zeppelin Experience: $25 (lawn), $29.95-$99.95
Wednesday, July 19: Straight No Chaser, Scott Bradlee’s Postmodern Jukebox: $29.95, $39.95, $49.95, $59.95 & $79.95
Friday, July 21: Kidz Bop Kids: $35 & $45
Saturday, July 22: Rod Stewart, Cyndi Lauper: $30 (lawn), $35, $75, $99.50, $149.50 & $199.50
Sunday, July 23: Florida Georgia Line, Nelly, Chris Lane: $30.50 (lawn), $71.25
Tuesday, July 25: Chicago, the Doobie Brothers: $25 (lawn), $39.50, $59.50, $89.50 & $125
Wednesday, July 26: Kings of Leon, Nathaniel Rateliff & the Night Sweats: $29.50 (lawn), $29.50, $49.50 & $79.50
Saturday, July 29: The Australian Pink Floyd Show : $25, $39.50 & $55
Tuesday, August 5: OneRepublic, Fitz & the Tantrums, James Arthur: $25 (lawn), $35, $47.50, $79.50, $105 & $135
Tuesday, August 15: Joe Bonamassa: $66-$156
Sunday, August 20: Goo Goo Dolls, Phillip Phillips: $20 (lawn), $29.50, $49.50, $69.50 & $79.50
Thursday, August 24: Earth, Wind & Fire, JB Smoove: $39.50, $49.50, $69.50 & $99.50
Friday, August 25: Matchbox Twenty, Counting Crows, Rivers & Rust: $29.50 (lawn), $49.50, $79.50 & $99.50
Saturday, August 26: Luke Bryan, Brett Eldredge, Craig Campbell: $33 (lawn), $81.25
Wednesday, August 30: Sting, Joe Sumner, the Last Bandoleros: $59.50, $79.50, $99.50, $149.50 & $179.50
Saturday, September 2: The Zac Brown Band: $36.75 (lawn), $66.75 & $80.75

CAFFE LENA @ SPAC CONCERT SERIES
Sunday, June 11: Birds of Chicago, The Pines, more: FREE
Sunday, July 9: The Steel Wheels, Twisted Pine, Honeysuckle, the Western Den: FREE
Sunday, August 27: Soul Inscribed, Sweet Megg & the Wayfarers, Let’s Be Leonard: FREE

FREIHOFER’S SARATOGA JAZZ FESTIVAL
Saturday, June 24: Freihofer’s Saratoga Jazz Festival featuring Chaka Khan, Jacob Collier, Jean Luc Ponty, Cecile McLorin, the Suffers, the Dave stryker Organ Quartet, Barbara Fasano, Aruan Ortiz, Jack Broadbent, Shabaka & the Ancestors, more: various prices
Sunday, June 25: Freihofer’s Saratoga Jazz Festival featuring the Gipsy Kings, Maceo Parker with the Ray Charles Orchestra, Hudson, Dee Dee Bridgewater, Quinn Sullivan, Jane Bunnett & Maqueque, the Adam O’Farrill Quartet, Jerron “Blind Boy” Paxton, the Noah Preminger/Jason Palmer Quartet, Cory Henry & the Funk Apostles: various prices

SPAC ON STAGE CONCERT SERIES
Monday, August 7: The Hot Sardines: $40 & $50
Monday, August 14: Time for Three: $40 & $50
Monday, August 21: Black Violin: $40 & $50
Monday, August 28: Tiempo Libre: $40 & $50

What do you think? Leave a comment...

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*