COMIN’ SOON: New Concert Announcements

April 12th, 2017, 12:00 pm by Greg

By Greg Haymes

The Hangar on the Hudson in Troy welcomes Americana fave Hayes Carll at 8pm on Thursday, June 8. Tickets are $20.

Post continues below...
Advertisement

Upstate Concert Hall in Clifton Park has added a batch of new concerts including The Joke’s on You Tour featuring watermelon-smasher Gallagher with Artie Fletcher and Bob Nelson at 8pm on Sunday, June 4. Tickets are $45 for general admission Splash Zone Seats; $30 for reserved general admission seating; $20 for general admission standing room. Also on tap at UCH are Badfish at 8pm on Friday, June 9 ($18 in advance; $22 at the door); Lil Uzi Vert at 8pm on Thursday, June 15 ($35 in advance; $38 at the door); and Blackbear at 8pm on Sunday, July 9 ($25 in advance; $28 at the door).

IN CASE YOU MISSED IT: Three more new shows announced for The EggBoDeans, Big Head Todd & the Monsters and blues legend Buddy Guy. Tickets go on sale at 11am on Friday (April 14).

Dan Stuart (of Green on Red) is teaming up with Tom Heyman (of Go to Blazes) at the Low Beat in Albany at 7pm on Sunday June 4 ($8 in advance). Other new Low Beat shows of note include David Gans and the Deadbeats at 9:30pm on Wednesday, April 19; Kosha Dillz with AMJ, Mike Arson and Ozymandias at 7pm on Sunday, April 30 ($10 in advance); Two Cow Garage with American Pinup and Boss’ Daughter at 8pm on Thursday, May 18; Drag the River’s Jon Snodgrass with Postage and Mikey Erg at 8pm on Friday, May 19; the Dollyrots at 7pm on Monday, May 22; and a Memorial Day weekend two-night stand with the Figgs on Friday & Saturday, May 26 & 27.

IN CASE YOU MISSED IT: E Street Band bassist Garry Tallent brings his first-ever solo tour to the Hangar on the Hudson in Troy, leading a band that features Los Straitjackets guitarslinger Eddie Angel. Tickets go on sale on Friday (April 14).

Lou Barlow (founding member of Sebadoh, Dinosaur Jr and the Folk Implosion) is playing a pair of free shows at One Caroline Street Bistro in Saratoga Springs. The Saturday, May 6 show is already sold out (or whatever the free equivalent is), but there may still be some availability for the show at 4pm on Sunday, May 7.

UPDATE: Hey Violet and Max & the Party Pupils have been added to the previously announced line-up of the FLY92 SummerJam at the Saratoga Performing Arts Center on Saturday, June 3.

Tragedy: The All Metal Tribute to the Bee Gees (yes, it’s exactly what it sounds like) returns to the Hollow Bar + Kitchen in Albany at 9:30pm on Saturday, May 6 ($12 in advance; $15 at the door); and Kat Wright & the Indomitable Soul Band rattles the rafters at 9:30pm on Thursday, May 18 ($12 in advance; $15 at the door).

IN CASE YOU MISSED IT: Bob Dylan’s concert on Saturday, June 24 at the Hutton Brickyards in Kingston sold out in a flash, so he added second show at 8pm on Friday, June 23. Don’t dawddle…

Brooklyn-based psychedelic folk outfit Woods pull into Club Helsinki in Hudson at 9pm on Friday, June 30 in support of their new album Love Is Love.

Guster lands at Levon Helm Studios in Woodstock at 8pm on Saturday, July 8. Tickets are $50 & $75.

IN CASE YOU MISSED IT: Drive-By Truckers will be making a pit stop at The Egg this summer. Tickets go on sale to the general public at 11am on Friday (April 14).

It’s a ska party! The Skatalites team up with Roots of Creation at the Bearsville Theater in Woodstock on Saturday, June 10. General admission tickets are $25 in advance; $30 at the door; $40 for balcony & cabaret seating.

The mindboggling husband-and-wife banjo duo of Bela Fleck & Abigail Washburn step into the spotlight at the Mahaiwe Performing Arts Center in Great Barrington at 7pm on Sunday, November 12. Tickets just went on sale at 12noon today (Wednesday, April 12), priced at $30, $50 & $8. Also at the Mahaiwe, veteran film-television-Broadway star John Davidson brings his “Roots, Roles & Rhymes” show at 8pm on Wednesday, July 12 ($32-$52).

IN CASE YOU MISSED IT: The Upstate Concert Hall in Clifton Park plays host to a headbangin’ affair dubbed the Freedom Fest 2017, featuring a marathon mosh-pit of Ramallah, All Out War, Terror, 100 Demons, Death Before Dishonor, Rude Awakening, Gods Hate, Concrete, Laid 2 Rest, Purgatory, Jagged Visions and Zero Hour.

Hawthorne Heights roll into Jupiter Hall in Guilderland at 8pm on Friday, June 2 with Viewpoints and Restless Streets in support. Tickets are $15 in advance; $18 at the door.

IN CASE YOU MISSED IT: Colin Hay – the former frontman for ’80s Australian hitmakers Men at Work – is scheduled to return to The Egg in support of his new solo album, Fierce Mercy. Tickets go on sale to the general public at 11am on Friday (April 14).

Reggae/ska band the Big Takeover skanks into The Linda in Albany at 8pm Saturday, May 27. Not only are they showcasing their new Silly Girl album, but they’re recording the night for an upcoming live album. Tickets are $18.

The Upper Room in downtown Albany welcomes super popmeister Marshall Crenshaw at 7:30pm on Saturday, May 13. Tickets are $20 & $35.

OPENERS: Colouring is slated to open for The 1975 at the Glens Falls Civic Center on Sunday, May 28…