COMIN’ SOON: New Concert Announcements

March 1st, 2017, 12:00 pm by Greg

By Greg Haymes

Blending blues, gospel and rock, pedal steel guitar master Robert Randolph brings his Family Band to the Upstate Concert Hall in Clifton Park at 8pm on Saturday, April 22. Tickets are on sale now priced at $25 in advance; $28 at the door. Also at UCH, I Prevail headlines on Monday, May 8 with Starset, Vamps and Cover Your Tracks opening the show at 7pm. Tickets are on sale now, priced at $20 in advance; $22 at the door. Good Charlotte teams up with Less Than Jake and Crown the Empire at 7:30pm on Thursday, May 18. Priced at $28.50 in advance; $32 at the door, tickets go on sale at 10am on Friday (March 3). And Seether and Letters from the Fire take the stage at 7:30pm. on Tuesday, May 16. Tickets are $30 in advance; $33 at the door; on sale at 10am Friday (March 3).

Post continues below...
Advertisement

IN CASE YOU MISSED IT: It’s ’80s Flashback time! The RetroFutura Tour 2017 is slated to make a stop at Albany’s Times Union Center, featuring such MTV-era faves as Howard Jones, Men Without Hats, Modern English, Paul Young and Katrina (of Katrina & the Waves).

Caffe Lena in Saratoga Springs has added quite a batch of a-list concerts to its calendar, including Liz Longley with Brian Dunne on Thursday, March 23; Guy Davis on Friday, March 24; Driftwood on Saturday, March 25; Brother Sun on Thursday, March 30; the Way Down Wanderers on Sunday, April 2; Anais Mitchell on Tuesday, April 4; the Frank Wakefield Band on Saturday, April 8; Ari Hest on Sunday, April 9; Dan Navarro and Darden Smith on Thursday, April 13; Pierre Bensusan on Friday, April 14; Danny Barnes with Grant Gordy & Joe K. Walsh on Thursday, April 20; the Chandler Travis Three-O on Saturday, April 22; Willy Porter & Carmen Nickerson with Ryanhood on Sunday, April 23; Eleanor Ellis, Bill Ellis & Andy Cohen with Joan Crane on Thursday, April 27; Geoff Muldaur on Friday, April 28; and Brooks Williams with Lisa Bastoni on Saturday, April 29.

OPENERS: Singer-songwriter Judith Owen and her band (led by veteran bass master Leland Sklar) have been tapped as the opening act for Bryan Ferry at Proctors on Thursday, March 30.

Maine-born and Texas-based, singer-songwriter Slaid Cleaves steps into the spotlight at The Linda in Albany at 8pm on Saturday, May 13. Tickets are currently on sale, priced at $22.

IN CASE YOU MISSED IT: Cooperstown’s Brewery Ommegang has announced a batch of new concerts for their summer series including the Old Crow Medicine Show (performing Bob Dylan’s classic 1966 album Blonde on Blonde in its entirety); the Ween reunion tour; and Elvis Costello & the Imposters. Tickets for Old Crow are on sale now; tickets for Ween and Costello go on sale at 10am on Friday (March 3).

Led by Dave Matthews Band violinist Boyd Tinsley, rockers Crystal Garden make their Greater Nippertown debut at Putnam Den in Saratoga Springs at 9pm on Saturday, April 1. Tickets are on sale now, priced at $20 in advance; $25 at the door. Also new on the Den’s calendar is Melvin Seals & JGB with the Jamie McLean Band at 9pm on Saturday, March 11. Tickets are $20 in advance; $25 at the door.

CANCELLED: The concert by the Josh Abbott Band originally scheduled for Thursday (March 2) at the Upstate Concert Hall in Clifton Park has been cancelled due to unforeseen family circumstances.

IN CASE YOU MISSED IT: The always reliable James Taylor is returning for his annual two-night holiday stand at Tanglewood in Lenox, and he’ll be bringing along his all-star band for both shows. Tickets go on sale at 10am on Monday (March 6).

IN CASE YOU MISSED IT: Goo Goo Dolls are returning to the Saratoga Performing Arts Center again this summer for their almost-annual appearance. Opening the show will be American Idol winner Phillip Phillips. Tickets go on sale at 10am on Friday (March 3).

The Fab Faux – featuring Will Lee, Jimmy Vivino, Jack Petruzzelli, Frank Agnello and Rich Pagano – will be performing a mixed bag of Beatles favorites at Levon Helm Studios in Woodstock at 8pm on Friday, April 28. Tickets went on sale earlier today (Wednesday March 1), priced at $65 & $100.

IN CASE YOU MISSED IT: The Linda in Albany is hosting a benefit concert for Clearwater featuring Betty & the Baby Boomers, Three Quarter North, Nite Train, the Bounce-Back Reggae Band, Elizabeth Straton and The Duo.

Montana-based psychedelic bluegrass band the Kitchen Dwellers move into Albany’s Hollow Bar + Kitchen at 9:30pm. on Thursday, April 27. Tickets are $12 in advance; $15 at the door.

IN CASE YOU MISSED IT: Comedian Nick Di Paolo is bringing the laughs to the Cohoes Music Hall. Tickets are on sale now.

Contemporary country singers Drew Baldridge and Dylan Scott team up for a double-bill at Vapor in Saratoga Springs at 8pm on Thursday, April 6. Tickets are on sale now priced at $20.

The Van Dyck welcomes back the Levin Brothers for two shows – 7 & 9pm – on Friday, March 31. Tickets are $18 in advance; $22 at the door.

SOLD OUT: Sunday’s (March 5) concert at The Egg by St. Paul & the Broken Bones with opening act Aaron Lee Tasjan is now officially sold out…