Caffe Lena Re-Opens on Friday!

December 28th, 2016, 11:00 am by Greg
Fred Eaglesmith & Tif Ginn

Tif Ginn & Fred Eaglesmith played the final show at the “old” Caffe Lena, 6/5/16

Photograph by Glenn Kaplowitz

The last time that there was a performance at Caffe Lena’s 47 Phila Street home was back on Sunday, June 5 when Fred Eaglesmith & Tif Ginn stepped onto the hallowed stage – more than six months ago. Since then, the building has been undergoing major renovations.

But the Caffe didn’t stop presenting music. Instead, it’s been on the move – jumping from venue to venue around Saratoga Springs and beyond. The Grove at Neumann, Universal Preservation Hall, Saratoga Arts Center, the Parting Glass, the Washington Inn, Northshire Bookstore, Skidmore College, Spring Street Gallery, Bailey’s Cafe, Creative Sparks and the Barn in Schenectady are among the various venues that offered Caffe Lena a home away from home during the summer and fall months.

Post continues below...
Advertisement

Now the Caffe is finally heading back to its real home. The first show back at the freshly renovated, re-made, re-modeled Caffe Lena will be at 8pm on Friday (December 30) when the Suitcase Junket steps onto the stage. And it should come as no surprise that the show is now officially sold out…

But you can bet that the Caffe’s homecoming celebration will last quite a while, so here’s the schedule of concerts scheduled for the first month back home on Phila Street:

Friday (December 30): Suitcase Junket (sold out)
Saturday (December 31): First Night Saratoga featuring Phil Henry & Gary Moon and Brass & Blues
Friday, January 6: The Evie Ladin Band and Red Tail Ring
Saturday, January 7: Steve Gillette & Cindy Mangsen
Sunday, January 8: Hot Club of Saratoga
Thursday, January 12: Ballroom Thieves
Friday, January 13: The Lustre Kings
Sunday, January 15: M.R. Poulopoulos and Adam Brockway
Friday, January 20: Beaucoup Blue
Saturday, January 21: “Heart of Saturday Night: Songs of Tom Waits”
Sunday, January 22: “The Last Boxcar: Ramblin Jug Stompers Sing American Train Songs”
Thursday, January 26: Hubby Jenkins
Friday, January 27: Bill Staines
Saturday, January 28: Celebrating the Legacy of Frank Jaklitsch
Sunday, January 29: Old Salt Union and Twisted Pine