Cohoes Music Hall Announces Season of Concerts, Theater, Films & More…

July 29th, 2016, 9:30 am by Greg

Back in March, Albany’s Palace Theatre announced that it would take over the management of the Cohoes Music Hall beginning in September, and on Thursday (July 28) the first season under that three-year agreement was revealed.

It’s a bit underwhelming…

Post continues below...
Advertisement

There are just 15 performances on tap, ranging from “Godspell” to 10,000 Maniacs to Chris Perondi’s Stunt Dog Experience, in addition to a weekly film series.

“Today’s announcement is just a taste of what’s to come at the music hall,” Holly Brown, the Palace’s executive director, said in a statement. And projections are for as many as 60 performances in the inaugural year, so we’ll have to wait and see what else develops as additions to the schedule are made.

Prior to the Palace’s involvement, the 385-seat Cohoes Music Hall hosted a number of concerts in the past year, including Dave Matthews cohort Tim Reynolds, folk legend Peter Yarrow, the Local 518 jazz band Bopitude, veteran country rockers the New Riders of the Purple Sage and Americana favorites Amy Helm and Alejandro Escovedo.

Tickets for the newly announced shows will go on sale to the general public at 10am today (Friday, July 29) at Ticketmaster, the Palace box office, as well as by phone at 800-745-3000.

Here’s the newly announced schedule of events for the 2016-2017 season at the Cohoes Music Hall:

MUSIC
Thursday, September 29: Donna the Buffalo, Ithaca-based roots rockin’ jam band. 8pm. $25 in advance; $30 at the door.

Saturday, October 1: Sandy Hackett’s Rat Pack Show, tribute to Frank Sinatra & Friends. 2 & 7:30pm. $27-$55; $100 VIP.

Saturday, October 15: Boogie Stomp, Bob Baldori and Arthur Migliazza cover 100 years of piano music. 7:30pm. $22.

Thursday, November 10: Tower of Power, horn-fueled R&B veterans. $59-$79.

Saturday, November 19: 10,000 Maniacs, alt-rockers celebrating their 35th anniversary. 7:30pm. $32, $42 & $52.

Saturday, January 28: Taylor, Chapin & EVA, acoustic favorites Livingston Taylor, Tom Chapin and EVA (Liz Simmons, Nicole Zuraitis & Kath Buckell). 7:30pm. $39, $49 & $69.

Saturday, February 11: Musicians of Ma’alwyck, performing “Suite of Love,” an evening of chamber music by Purcell, Bach, Mozart, Schumann, Nin and Libby Larsen. 7:30pm. $19.

THEATER
Friday & Saturday, September 9 & 10: “Disney’s Peter Pan Jr.,” a Staging Youths’ Future production. 7pm Friday; 2 & 7pm Saturday. $12.

Friday & Saturday, September 16 & 17: “Addams Family,” a Staging Youths’ Future production. 7pm Friday; 2 & 7pm Saturday. $15.

Friday & Saturday, December 16 & 17: “A Christmas Carol,” a Staging Youths’ Future production. $15.

Friday-Sunday, March 3-5 & March 10-12: “Godspell,” a Park Playhouse production. 8pm Friday & Saturday; 2pm Saturday & Sunday. $25; $15 children.

Thursday-Sunday, March 30-April 2 & April 6-9: “Rent,” a Park Playhouse production. 8pm Thursday-Saturday; 2pm Saturday & Sunday. $25; $15 children.

Sunday, May 7: Chris Perondi’s Stunt Dog Experience, featuring plenty of canine tricks. 2 & 5pm. $19; $29 VIP.

DANCE
Saturday, February 18: FLY Dance Company, high-energy hip-hop, classical and modern dance. 7:30pm. $22 & $27.

CHILDREN’S EVENTS
Saturday, February 25: “Disney Junior’s Choo Choo Soul,” children’s songs. 2pm. $18.50.

FILMS
Tuesday, October 4: “The Godfather.” 2 & 7pm. $5.

Tuesday, October 11: “Jurassic World.” 7pm. $5.

Tuesday, October 18: “Friday the 13th.” 7pm. $5.

Tuesday, October 25: “The Exorcist.” 7pm. $5.

Tuesday, November 1: “Singin’ in the Rain.” 2 & 7pm. $5.

Tuesday, November 8: “Mr. Smith Goes to Washington.” 7pm. $5.

Tuesday, November 15: “Star Wars: The Force Awakens.” 7pm. $5.

Tuesday, November 22: “Alice’s Restaurant.” 7pm. $5.

Tuesday, December 6: “White Christmas.” 2 & 7pm. $5.

Tuesday, December 13: “A Christmas Story.” 7pm. $5.

Tuesday, December 20: “Miracle on 34th Street.” 7pm. $5.