COMIN’ SOON: New Concert Announcements

July 6th, 2016, 12:00 pm by Greg

By Greg Haymes

Hudson Basilica in Hudson presents its second annual Pioneering People Fall Fundraising Concert featuring Rufus Wainwright at 8pm on Saturday, October 22. Tickets are now on sale, priced at $50.

Post continues below...
Advertisement

IN CASE YOU MISSED IT: Graham Nash is bringing his This Path Tonight Tour to the Troy Savings Bank Music Hall. Tickets go on sale to the general public on Tuesday (July 11).

The Half Moon in Hudson welcomes back Ryley Walker at 8pm on Friday, October 28. He’ll be joined by Circuit des Yeux and Last Good Tooth. Tickets are $10.

Saratoga Springs’ Universal Preservation Hall is hosting a summer concert series that features Triple Play at 7:30pm on Friday, July 22 ($25 in advance; $30 at door); Howard Fishman & Band at 7:30pm on Friday, August 19; and the Chuck Lamb Quartet at 7:30pm on Saturday, October 1. Tickets for the shows are on sale now, priced at $25 in advance; $30 at door.

The Falcon in Marlboro always boasts a stellar concert of music, but July’s calendar seems especially high in quality, even by The Falcon’s standards. Upcoming shows include the double-bill of Mamadou Kelly & BanKaiNa and Professor Louie & the Crowmatix at 7pm on Wednesday, July 20; Augie Meyers & Cindy Cashdollar with the Sideshow Tragedy at 7pm on Friday, July 22; Steven Bernstein’s Sexmob at 7pm on Sunday, July 24; Dave Liebman’s Expansions at 7pm on Thursday, July 28; Bernard “Pretty” Purdie & Friends at 7pm on Friday, July 29; and Greg Osby at 7pm on Sunday, July 31. Oh, and no admission charge; donations encouraged.

CHANGE OF VENUE: The concert by Glenn Hughes (Deep Purple) and blues-rocker Joanne Shaw Taylor that was originally slated to be held at Rascals at Guilderland’s Crossgates Mall at 8pm on Friday, August 19 has been re-located to the Upper Room in Albany. Tickets for Rascals will be honored at the new venue.

Bansuri flute player Steve Gorn leads a quartet playing Indian ragas at Maverick Concerts in Woodstock ay 8pm on Saturday (July 9). Also at Maverick, trumpeter Amir ElSaffar & the Two Rivers Ensemble offer a cross-cultural fusion rooted in the music of Iraq, the Middle East and jazz at 8pm on Saturday, July 16; the folk duo of Kim & Reggie Harris play a Young Peoples’ Concert at 11am on Saturday, July 23; the brilliant pianist Vijay Iyer plays a solo concert at 8pm on Saturday, July 23: pianist Fred Hersch and soprano saxophonist Jane Ira Bloom team up for an evening of duets at 8pm on Saturday, July 30; the Julian Lage Trio wraps up the Jazz at the Maverick series at 8pm on Saturday, August 13; and Woodstock folk legend Happy Traum & Friends wrap up the season at 8pm on Saturday, September 10.

Club Helsinki in Hudson welcomes blues guitar phenom Quinn Sullivan at 8pm on Sunday, August 21 ($20 & $28) and Hollis Brown at 9pm on Friday, August 27 ($12 in advance; $15 at the door).

Bearded, 38-year-old, Ann Arbor blues-rocker Laith Al-Saadi was an unlikely contender in last season’s NBC-TV singing competition, “The Voice,” but his talent carried him through to the Final Four. Now he’s making a tour stop at Levon Helm Studios in Woodstock at 8pm on Friday, August 26. Tickets are $25 & $35.

EDM faves Mako land at King Neptune’s Pub in Lake George at 9pm on Friday, August 19.

The Upstate Concert Hall in Clifton Park plays host to Randy & Mr. Lahey of the Trailer Park Boys at 8pm on Saturday, September 24. Tickets are on sale now, priced at $20 in advance; $25 at the door.

SOLD OUT: The Mahaiwe Performing Arts Center’s Gala featuring “Alan Cumming Sings Sappy Songs” at 8pm on Monday, July 18 is now officially sold out… The Wood Brothers concert at Levon Helm Studios in Woodstock at 8pm on Friday, August 19 is now officially sold out.