SPAC: The 2014 Pop/Rock Season

Jack Johnson (photo by Stanley Johnson)

Jack Johnson (photo by Stanley Johnson)

Photograph by Stanley Johnson

Hmmmm…

Is it just a coincidence that the band that played on the final day of the 2013 Saratoga Performing Arts Center season returns to kick off SPAC’s 2014 concert calendar? Has that ever happened before? Don’t think so, but it’s happening with Jack Johnson, who shared the spotlight at Farm Aid with Dave Matthews, Neil Young, Willie Nelson, John Mellencamp and lots of others last September.

Yes, Johnson is headed back to SPAC on Saturday (May 24) with Edward Sharpe & the Magnetic Zeroes to launch the Saratoga Springs amphitheater’s 2014 string of two dozen (so far) pop/rock shows that run from the weekends of Memorial Day to Labor Day – which pretty much defines summer around Nippertown.

As expected, the line-up leans toward the classic rock and country end of the musical spectrum, but the burning question of the SPAC summer just might be, “What will CeeLo Green wear?”

Here’s the complete SPAC schedule of pop/rock shows as of today (Friday, May 23):

Post continues below...
Advertisement

Saturday (May 24), 7:30pm:
JACK JOHNSON
With Edward Sharpe & the Magnetic Zeroes

Friday, May 30, 7pm:
THE DAVE MATTHEWS BAND

Saturday, May 31, 7pm:
THE DAVE MATTHEWS BAND

Saturday, June 7, 2pm:
FLY-92 SUMMER JAM
Featuring Jason Derulo, MKTO, Icona Pop, Dani Moz, Hot Chelle Rae, AJR, R5 and Timeflies

Saturday, June 14, 6:45pm:
JOURNEY
With the Steve Miller Band and Tower of Power

Sunday, June 15, 6:45pm:
GOO GOO DOLLS
With Daughtry and Plain White T’s

Tuesday, June 24, 7pm:
FALL OUT BOY
With Paramore and New Politics

Thursday, July 3, 7:30pm:
PHISH

Friday, July 4, 7:30pm:
PHISH

Saturday, July 5, 7:30pm:
PHISH

Wednesday, July 16, 8pm:
SARAH McLACHLAN

Saturday, July 19, 8pm:
JAMES TAYLOR & HIS ALL-STAR BAND

Wednesday, July 23, 1pm:
ROCKSTAR ENERGY DRINK MAYHEM FESTIVAL/Q-RUPTION
With Aveneged Sevenfold, Korn, Asking Alexandria, Trivium, more

Friday, July 25, 7:30pm:
LIONEL RICHIE
With CeeLo Green

Sunday, August 3, 7pm:
RASCAL FLATTS
With Sheryl Crow and Gloriana

Monday, August 4, 7:30pm:
THE MOODY BLUES

Tuesday, August 5, 7:30pm:
KISS
With Def Leppard

Sunday, August 10, 7pm:
KINGS OF LEON
With Kongos and Young the Giant

Sunday, August 17, 7pm:
LUKE BRYAN
With Lee Brice and Cole Swindell

Tuesday, August 19, 7:30pm:
REO SPEEDWAGON
With Chicago

Sunday, August 24, 7:30pm:
THE ZAC BROWN BAND

Tuesday, August 26, 7:30pm:
MOTLEY CRUE
With Alice Cooper

Friday, August 29, 7pm:
JASON ALDEAN
With Florida Georgia Line

Sunday, August 31, 7:30pm:
STEELY DAN

Comments are closed.

Holly & EvanCartoonist John CaldwellCaffe LenaAdvertise on Nippertown!Leave Regular Radio BehindKeep Albany BoringHudson SoundsAlbany PoetsArtist Charles HaymesBerkshire On StageThe LindaAnimalKind