Comin’ Soon: New Concert Announcements

Nippertown’s premiere coffeehouse is celebrating its 54th anniversary this month, and the party is gonna last all month long at Caffe Lena in Saratoga Springs with a May calendar crammed with shows by Steve Katz (formerly of the Blues Project and Blood, Sweat & Tears) at 8pm on Friday (May 9) ($20 in advance; $22 at the door); Session Americana at 8pm on Saturday (May 10) ($18 in advance; $20 at the door); Christine Lavin with Sean Altman at 2pm on Sunday (May 11) ($22 in advance; $24 at the door); Joseph Arthur at 7pm on Monday (May 12) ($22 in advance; $24 at the door); Sharon Katz & the Peace Train at 8pm on Friday, May 16 ($18 in advance; $20 at the door); Luka Bloom at 7pm on Thursday, May 22 ($25 in advance; $27 at the door); Mary Fahl (of the October Project) at 8pm on Saturday, May 24 ($22 in advance; $24 at the door); and Loudon Wainwright III at 7pm on Sunday, May 25 ($55 in advance).

IN CASE YOU MISSED IT: The line-up of bands has been announced for Albany’s Alive at Five Concert Series at Jennings Landing at the Corning Preserve. The eight-concert Thursday evening series kicks off with Fitz & the Tantrums. GO HERE for the complete schedule…

In Schenectady, the Van Dyck’s summer concert season is heating up with a batch of new announcements, including the guitar-and-vocal duo Tuck & Patti at 8pm on Thursday, June 5 ($18 in advance; $22 at the door); the return of the multi-talented David Lindley at 7 & 9:30pm on Friday, June 6 ($20 in advance; $24 at the door); the New West Guitar Group at 8pm on Friday, June 20 ($8 in advance; $10 at the door); jazz guitarist extraordinaire Stanley Jordan at 7 & 9:30pm on Saturday, June 21 ($22 in advance; $26 at the door); the Harry Allen/Paul Myers Quartet at 8pm on Saturday, July 19 ($15 in advance; $18 at the door); the Bria Skonberg Band at 8pm on Friday, July 25 ($15 in advance; $18 at the door); and the Jazz Guitar Summit featuring Bucky Pizzarelli, Howard Alden and Gerry Beaudoin at 7 & 9:30pm on Saturday, July 26 ($22 in advance; $26 at the door).

Down in Hudson, Club Helsinki heaps on the summer shows with a big batch of new announcements, including Lauren Ambrose (yes, she of “Six Feet Under”) & the NorthEastern Western Swing Explosion at 9pm on Friday, May 30 ($15 in advance; $18 at the door); Jessica Molaskey & Her Italian Quartet at 8pm on Saturday, June 7 ($60 in advance; $70 at the door); Zoe Muth & the Lost High Rollers at 8pm on Sunday, June 8; guitar phenom Alexander Turnquist at 8pm on Sunday, June 15; the triple bill of 13 Strings & A $2 Bill, Lost Dog Street Band and Intuitive Compass at 9pm on Friday, July 11; Otan Vargas at 7pm on Saturday, July 12; the Baseball Project at 8pm on Wednesday, July 23 ($15 in advance; $18 at the door); Stephin Merritt at 9pm on Friday, July 25 ($15 in advance; $18 at the door); Carbon Leaf at 9pm on Friday, August 1 ($25); Black Violin at 9pm on Saturday, August 9 ($22); and the Wood Brothers at 9pm on Friday, August 15. Whew…

CH-CH-CH-CHANGES: The Chain Gang of 1972 have cancelled their upcoming performance at the Albany Tulip Festival in Washington Park on Saturday (May 10), and they have been replaced by NYC indie synth-popsters Panama Wedding. GO HERE for updated complete schedule of bands…

Post continues below...
Advertisement

IN CASE YOU MISSED IT: There’s a new addition to MASS MoCA’s summer concert series – Iron and Wine will play an outdoor concert there next month.

Mandolin master and pioneer of bluegrass-and-beyond Frank Wakefield brings his band – Deane Lewis on banjo, Pat Mullaly on guitar and Nick Barr on bass – into the Parting Glass in Saratoga Springs for a special concert celebration in honor of his 80th birthday at 8pm on Saturday, June 21. Tickets are $15.

IN CASE YOU MISSED IT: The reunited Nickel Creek headlines the opening day of the four-day Grey Fox Bluegrass Festival at Walsh Farm in Oak Hill. Other featured bands include the Del McCoury Band, the Steep Canyon Rangers, Carolina Chocolate Drops, the Gibson Brothers and lots more…

NaNola in Malta is hosting a couple of upcoming free WEQX-FM concerts, including Tokyo Police Club at 5pm on Sunday, May 18 and Parade of Lights at 8pm on Monday, June 16.

Ukulele virtuoso Jake Shimabukuro steps into the spotlight at the Calvin Theatre in Northampton at 8pm on Friday, October 17. Priced at $26 & $36, tickets go on sale on Friday (May 9).

IN CASE YOU MISSED IT: Five Finger Death Punch and Volbeat bring their co-headlining tour to the Times Union Center in Albany with Hellyeah and Nothing More in the support slots. Tickets go on sale on Saturday…

Manchester Orchestra takes over the Upstate Concert Hall in Clifton Park on Thursday, July 31, with the Mowgli’s and Bricks + Mortar opening the show at 8pm. Priced at $17.50, advance tickets go on sale at 12noon on Thursday (May 8). Meanwhile, twenty one pilots bring their Quiet Is Viølent Tour to UCH at 7:30pm on Tuesday, September 9. Tickets go on sale at 10am on Saturday, priced at $22 in advance; $25 at the door.

Led Zeppelin tribute band Get the Led Out teams up with Rush tribute band Lotus Land for a double-bill at Mountain Park in Holyoke at 4pm on Saturday, August 2. Tickets are $25 & $35 and will go on sale on Friday (May 9).

IN CASE YOU NISSED IT: It’s finally official – country hitmaker Jason Aldean and Florida Georgia Line are scheduled to make a tour stop at the Saratoga Performing Arts Center in Saratoga Springs. Tickets go on sale on Friday.

Drum monster Terry Bozzio leads his band into the Bearsville Theater in Woodstock at 8pm on Wednesday, September 17. Tickets are $25 in advance; $30 at the door.

CJ Ramone and his band rumble into Casey’s Billiards in Pittsfield on Sunday, May 18, headlining a bash that also features Order of the Circle, the Fallen Starlets and Everyone Will Suffer Now, who open the show at 7pm. Tickets are $10.

IN CASE YOU MISSED IT: The Piano Guys are headed into the Palace Theatre in Albany with their Christmas show. That’s right, Christmas show… Tickets go on sale on Friday.

The Colonial Theatre in Pittsfield has added a handful of new concerts to its summer season, including Peter Schickele’s “50 Years of P.D.Q. Bach: A Triumph of Incompetence” at 8pm on Saturday, July 26 ($25, $35, $45 & $55); the Irish Rovers’ Farewell Tour at 8pm on Thursday, August 21 ($30, $40 & $50); and “Classic Albums Live Performs Abbey Road” at 8pm on Saturday, September 6 ($27.50, $35, $42.50 & $50).

The Mahaiwe Performing Arts Center in Great Barrington welcomes multi-platinum-selling cabaret singer and torchbearer of the Great American Songbook Michael Feinstein at 7pm on Sunday, August 10. Priced at $65 & $90, tickets are slated to go on sale to the general public at 12noon on Saturday (May 10).

Comments are closed.

Cartoonist John CaldwellHolly & EvanCaffe LenaAdvertise on Nippertown!The LindaArtist Charles HaymesKeep Albany BoringHudson SoundsLeave Regular Radio BehindAlbany PoetsBerkshire On StageThe Sanctuary For Independent Media