Comin’ Soon: New Concert Announcements

Terry Adams (photo by Fred Boak)

Terry Adams of NRBQ

Photograph by Fred Boak

Madcap keyboardist Terry Adams leads NRBQ into the Bearsville Theater in Woodstock at 8pm on Sunday, June 15. They’ll be joined by the Whole Wheat Horns in support of their new album, Brass Tacks. Tickets are $20 in advance; $25 at the door. Also coming up at Bearsville is Keneally-Bendian-Lunn at 8pm on Wednesday, May 28. Led by gonzo guitarslinger Mike Keneally (formerly with Frank Zappa), the power trio also features drummer Gregg Bendian (of the Mahavishnu Project) and bassist Doug Lunn (of Fire Merchants). Tickets are $20.

Putnam Den in Saratoga Springs has beefed up its concert calendar with the additions of Terrapin Flyer (featuring Melvin Seals) at 9pm on Friday, May 9 ($15 in advance; $20 at the door); Girls, Guns & Glory with Sarah Borges and Last Daze at 9pm on Friday, May 23 ($10); Max Creek with Black Mountain Symphony and the High Peaks Trio at 9pm on Thursday, June 12 ($15 in advance; $18 at the door); and the return of Fishbone with Banooba at 9pm on Saturday, June 21 ($12 in advance; $15 at the door; $5 surcharge if under 21. If that’s not enough, Sean Kelly leads the reunion of the Samples, who land at Putnam Den at 9pm on Saturday, July 26. Tickets are $20 in advance; $25 at the door; $5 surcharge at door if under 21.

The Ale House in Troy has an impressive batch of new shows on tap, too, including Local 518 rockabilly kingpins the Lustre Kings with special guest steel guitar greats Cindy Cashdollar and Kevin Maul at 6pm on Sunday, May 18 ($10); California roots-rocker Kim Lenz at 8pm on Monday, May 19 ($10); Austin honky-tonker Dale Watson at 8pm on Wednesday, June 4 ($25); the Lonesome Brothers at 9pm on Saturday, June 7 ($TBA); and Telecaster twangmaster Bill Kirchen at 8pm on Sunday, June 15 ($20).

Post continues below...
Advertisement

Meanwhile, up in Clifton Park, the Upstate Concert Hall has bolstered its calendar with newly announced concerts by Trapt with Leaving Eden and One Day Waiting at 7pm on Sunday, July 6 ($1.03 for the first 103 tickets; then $13 in advance; $15 at the door), and Cage the Elephant at 8pm on Sunday, July 27 ($25 in advance; $28 at the door). Tickets for both shows go on sale at 10am on Friday (May 2). In addition, Circa Survive takes the stage at 8pm on Saturday, July 12. Tickets are $20 in advance; $22 at the door, and go on sale at 12noon on Friday (May 2).

In support of his sophomore album, Paradise, Latin-pop singer-songwriter Diego Garcia and his band return to WAMC-FM’s The Linda in Albany once again at 8pm on Saturday, May 31. Tickets are $17.

IN CASE YOU MISSED IT: In support of her new album, Tales from the Realm of the Queen of Pentacles, singer-songwriter Suzanne Vega is scheduled to step into the spotlight at the Barrington Stage Co. in Pittsfield.

The Iron Horse Music Hall in Northampton has a big, big batch of new shows on its concert calendar including Los Straitjackets with Deke Dickerson at 7pm on Wednesday, November 29 ($17.50 in advance; $20 at the door) and Barrence Whitfield & the Savages at 7pm on Friday, June 20 ($15 in advance; $18 at the door). Other new shows on the Iron Horse slate are Wakey!Wakey! at 10pm on Sunday, June 14 ($12 in advance; $15 at the door); Austin’s Band of Heathens at 7pm on Thursday, June 19 ($12.50 in advance; $15 at the door); Oklahoma’s Turnpike Troubadours with American Aquarium at 7pm on Monday, July 14 ($15 in advance; $20 at the door); Bombino at 7pm on Wednesday, September 3 ($17.50 in advance; $20 at the door); the double-bill of Chris O’Brien and The Sea The Sea at 7pm on Thursday, September 4 ($10 in advance; $13 at the door); the Charles Neville Jazz Quartet with Juke Joint Jazz at 7pm on Friday, September 5 ($15 in advance; $18 at the door); Steve Forbert at 7pm on Friday, September 19 ($20 in advance; $25 at the door); Erin McKeown at 7pm on Saturday, October 18 ($17.50 in advance; $20 at the door); and the Buster Williams Quartet featuring Patrice Rushen, Lenny White and Bruce Williams at 7pm on Wednesday, November 5 ($17.50 in advance; $20 at the door).

IN CASE YOU MISSED IT: Lewis Black is returning to Albany’s Palace Theatre.

IN CASE YOU MISSED IT: But if you can’t wait til then, Lewis Black is also headed back to the Williamstown Theatre Festival in Williamstown, too.

Brooklyn roots band Roosevelt Dime romps into the Garage in Pittsfield at 8pm on Friday, June 6. With their blend of Appalachian string band music, Memphis soul and New Orleans Dixieland, they’ve be celebrating their latest album, Full Head of Steam. Tickets are $12 in advance; $15 at the door.

HEADS UP: J.D. McPherson’s concert scheduled for Club Helsinki in Hudson on Sunday, August 10, is now being billed as a “solo acoustic” performance.

CANCELLED: Lisa Marie Presley’s upcoming U.S. tour – which was slated for a stop at the Bearsville Theater in Woodstock on Saturday, June 21 – has been cancelled due to health concerns. Ticket refunds are available at the place of purchase.

Yes, we know that ABBA: The Concert is taking over the stage of the Palace Theatre next week, but if you want still more live ABBA music, say “Gimme! Gimme! Gimme!”” and head to the Calvin Theater in Northampton at 8pm on Friday, November 14 for a blast of ABBA Mania. Tickets go on sale on Friday (May 2), priced at $23.50, $28.50 & $38.50.

OPENERS: The Jefferson Grizzard Band has been tapped as the opening act for Willie Nile at WAMC-FM’s The Linda in Albany at 8pm on Saturday May 17.

Comments are closed.

Cartoonist John CaldwellHolly & EvanCaffe LenaAdvertise on Nippertown!Albany PoetsLeave Regular Radio BehindArtist Charles HaymesKeep Albany BoringHudson SoundsBerkshire On StageThe LindaThistle Hill Weavers