Real Good for FREE: Freedom Park in Scotia

Alex Torres and his Latin Orchestra

Saturday, July 6: Alex Torres and his Latin Orchestra

Freedom Park in Scotia is gearing up for yet another summer chock full of music. No, the summer season of free concerts at Freedom Park doesn’t boast the big-name recognition of some of the bands that play, say, Albany’s Alive at Five series. But it certainly does host more free outdoor performances than any other summer concert series in Greater Nippertown – 34 shows in all, stretching out across the summer calendar.

The series kicks off on Wednesday (June 19) with the ever-popular Hair of the Dog. The concerts all take place at 7pm, except for Summer of Doug on Friday, June 28, which starts at 8pm so that it will be dark at the end of the show for a special fireworks display.

Here’s the full schedule of Freedom Park shows for 2013:

Post continues below...
Advertisement

Wednesday (June 19): Hair of the Dog ~ Celtic folk/rock
Saturday (June 22): Paul “Little Elvis” Hunt
Sunday (June 23): Music Company Orchestra ~ classical
Wednesday, June 26: Scotia-Glenville Pipe Band ~ pipe & drum
Friday, June 28, 8pm: Summer of Doug (with fireworks display) ~ rock
Sunday, June 30: The Lustre Kings ~ rockabilly

Wednesday, July 3: Funk Evolution
Saturday, July 6: Alex Torres & His Latin Orchestra
Sunday, July 7: Captain Squeeze & the Zydeco Moshers
Wednesday, July 10: Screaming Orphans ~ Celtic pop/rock
Thursday, July 11: Scotia-Glenville Community Band
Saturday, July 13: Wild Adriatic ~ rock & soul
Sunday, July 14: The Zucchini Brothers ~ children’s rock
Wednesday, July 17: The Audiostars ~ party rock
Saturday, July 20: Erin Harkes ~ singer/songwriter
Sunday, July 21: The Route Fifty 5 ~ brass quintet
Wednesday, July 24: Sirsy ~ rock duo
Thursday, July 25: Scotia-Glenville Community Band
Saturday, July 27: Rattail Jimmy featuring Alan Payette ~ classic rock
Sunday, July 28: Dyer Switch Band ~ bluegrass
Wednesday, July 31: The Joey Thomas Big Band

Saturday, August 3: Flame ~ rock
Sunday, August 4: The Puppet People ~ children’s
Wednesday, August 7: Skeeter Creek ~ country
Saturday, August 10: The Standard Clams ~ standard jazz
Sunday, August 11: Ellen Sinopoli Dance Company
Wednesday, August 14: SLOC Presents “High School Musical”
Thursday, August 15: SLOC Presents “High School Musical”
Saturday, August 17: SLOC Presents “High School Musical”
Sunday, August 18: The Wister Quartet ~ classical
Wednesday, August 21: The Refrigerators ~ party rock
Saturday, August 24: The Rymanowski Brothers Orchestra ~ polka
Sunday, August 25: The Brian Patneaude Quartet
Wednesday, August 28: Grand Central Station ~ party rock

ADDITIONAL REAL GOOD FOR FREE EVENTS FOR 2013
Fourth of July Celebration @ Empire State Plaza, Albany (Thursday, July 4)
GE’s Kids Day @ Empire State Plaza, Albany (Sunday, July 7)
African American Family Day @ Empire State Plaza, Albany (Sunday, August 3)
New York State Food Festival @ Empire State Plaza, Albany (Wednesday, August 14)
Hispanic Heritage Celebration @ Empire State Plaza, Albany (Saturday, September 14)
Summer at the Plaza @ Empire State Plaza, Albany (various days)
Music in the Park @ Schodack Town Park, Schodack (Tuesdays through July 9)
Tuesday Nights in the Park @ Cook Park, Colonie (Tuesdays through August 27)
Rockin’ On the River @ Green Island Bridge Parking Lot/Riverfront Park, Troy (Wednesdays from June 19 through August 28)
Jazz On Jay @ Jay Street, Schenectady (Thursdays through September 5)
Alive at Five @ Riverfront Park, Albany (Thursdays through August 8)
Music in the Park @ Dutchman’s Landing, Catskill (Thursdays through August 29)
Guilderland Performing Arts Center @ Tawasentha Park, Guilderland (Thursdays from June 27 to August 22)
Upbeat On the Roof @ Skidmore College’s Tang Museum, Saratoga Springs (Fridays through August 30)
Athens Summer Concert Series @ Riverfront Park, Athens (Fridays through August 30)
Music at Sunset @ Greenport Town Park, Hudson (Fridays through August 30)
Music Haven Concert Series @ Central Park, Schenectady (Sundays July 7 through August 11)

Tags: ,

Comments are closed.

Holly & EvanCartoonist John CaldwellThe Cock'N'Bull RestaurantJim Gaudet and the Railroad BoysCaffe LenaAdvertise on Nippertown!The LindaBerkshire On StageArtist Charles HaymesHudson SoundsLeave Regular Radio BehindAlbany PoetsCapital Repertory Theater