Concert Schedule Announced for the College of Saint Rose’s Massry Center

July 19th, 2012, 12:00 pm by Greg

The Massry Center at the College of Saint Rose in Albany has announced its Premiere Performances schedule for the 2012-2013 season with a slate of music that ranges from jazz to classical, from folk to funk.

Here’s the complete line-up of concerts:

Post continues below...
Advertisement

DOC SEVERINSEN & THE SAN MIGUEL 5
Friday, September 14, 7:30pm
$30
Led by the trumpeter and former “Tonight Show” bandleader

MEDESKI MARTIN & WOOD
Saturday, October 6, 7:30pm
$30
A special acoustic performance by the jazz ‘n’ jam band trio

THE BEN ALLISON QUARTET
With THE LEE SHAW TRIO
Thursday, November 15, 7:30pm
$20
Bassist-composer Allison leads his eclectic jazz combo.

IT’S A JAZZY CHRISTMAS!
Sunday, December 2, 3 & 5pm
$20
A family-friendly holiday concert featuring the music of Vince Guaraldi

ANNA LEE
Sunday, January 27, 3pm
$30
Solo violin recital by the teenage prodigy

THE DIRTY DOZEN BRASS BAND
Saturday, February 9, 7:30pm
$30
Trumpeter Gregory Davis leads the New Orleans musical ambassadors as they celebrate their 35th anniversary.

LIVINGSTON TAYLOR & THE COLLEGE OF SAINT ROSE ORCHESTRA
Friday, February 22, 7:30pm
$25
The folk-pop singer-songwriter-educator will be backed by the orchestra conducted by Saint Rose music professor David Bebe.

VLADIMIR GORBACH
Saturday, March 2, 7:30pm
$20
A performance by the internationally acclaimed classical guitarist and Guitar Foundation of America winner

PONOCHEVNY & ZYL
Sunday, March 10, 3pm
$35
An afternoon of classical piano duets by the husband-and-wife team of Andrey Ponochevny and Elena Zyl

STEFON HARRIS & 90 MILES
Thursday, April 18, 7:30pm
$30
“90 Miles” is a jazz album and documentary film recorded in Havana, Cuba in featuring trumpeter Christian Scott, vibes master (and Nippertown native) Stefon Harris and saxophonist David S├ínchez. UPDATE (August 2): Nicholas Payton replaces Christian Scott in the touring band.

The College of Saint Rose Camerata is also scheduled to offer free performances at the Massry Center on Saturday, September 22; Wednesday, October 10; Saturday, October 27; Saturday, February 16; and Friday, April 19.