Comin’ Soon…

October 26th, 2011, 4:00 pm by Greg

David Cook – the winner of the seventh season of “American Idol” – will be rolling into Northern Lights in Clifton Park at 8pm on Saturday, December 3, in support of his sophomore album, “This Loud Morning,” released earlier this year. Tix are $20 in advance; $22 at the door. Also new on Northern Lights concert schedule is August Burns Red at 7:15pm on Monday, February 27. Support acts for the show include Silverstein, Texas in July and I the Breather. Tix are $20 in advance; $22 at the door. Tix for both shows go on sale at 10am on Saturday (October 29).

“A Little More Country Than That”: Country music hitmaker Easton Corbin rolls into Vapor in Saratoga Springs for a concert on Thursday, December 1. Doors open at 7pm; opening act Logan Mize steps into the spotlight at 9pm, followed by Corbin. Tix are $15 in advance; $18 at the door.

Post continues below...
Advertisement

Featuring the Features…: Yeah, the Features can be heard on the soundtrack for the newest installment of “Twilight,” but don’t hold that against them. In support of their new album, “Wilderness” – which earned 8 out of 10 stars from SPIN – the Nashville rock quartet rolls into Jillian’s in Albany on Friday, November 4. Around the World and Back and the City Never Sleeps kick off the music at 9pm. Tix are $10 in advance; $12 at the door. Other new shows announced for Jillian’s include Orchard Lounge with Timbre Coup at 9:30pm on Friday, November 11 ($13 in advance; $15 at the door); Paranoid Social Club on Friday, November 18 ($10 in advance; $12 at the door); Cornmeal and Hot Buttered Rum on Friday, December 2 ($12 in advance; $15 at the door); and Brothers Past on Thursday, December 29 ($12 in advance; $15 at the door).

“Romancin'” with Russell: Versatile vocalist Catherine Russell steps into the spotlight at MASS MoCA in North Adams to celebrate the release of her upcoming album, “Strictly Romancin’,” at 8pm on Saturday, February 18. Ticket prices TBA.

Upcoming at the Iron Horse: The Iron Horse Music Hall in Northampton has a batch of travel-worthy shows on tap, including Ian Hunter & the Rant Band at 7pm on Thursday, November 3 ($45 in advance; $50 at the door); Jorma Kaukonen at 7pm on Sunday, November 6 ($30 in advance; $35 at the door); Dave Alvin & the Guilty Ones at 7pm on Wednesday, November 9 ($20 in advance; $25 at the door); the Richie Furay Band with the Lonesome Brothers at 7pm on Thursday, November 10 ($25 in advance; $30 at the door); Leon Redbone at 7pm on Sunday, November 13 ($25 in advance; $30 at the door); Marc Ribot’s Ceramic Dog at 7pm on Tuesday, November 15 ($15 in advance; $20 at the door).

In case you missed it: Celtic rockers Gaelic Storm will be turning in a rousing concert at The Egg in Albany in the spring.

In case you missed it, Part II: Acoustic Hot Tuna – featuring Jorma Kaukonen, Jack Casady and Barry Mitteroff – return to The Egg in Albany.