Comin’ Soon…

The Parting Glass in Saratoga Springs is gearing up for a busy summer season with a batch of high profile Celtic music bands, including the Town Pants at 9:30pm on Saturday, August 6 ($TBA); the Young Dubliners at 9pm on Thursday, August 11 ($10); the Prodigals at 9:30pm on Friday, August 26 ($10); Rathkeltair at 9pm on Friday, September 2 (free). It’s not all Irish music at the Glass, though. Soul-bluesman Slam Allen will be joined by the Foy Brothers for a benefit concert for the Capital Region Blues Network at 8pm on Friday, July 29. Tix are $15 in advance; $20 at the door. But the biggest news of the week up at the Parting Glass is the long-awaited reunion of Nippertown’s own Donnybrook Fair on Thursday, August 18. The band will perform two shows (7 & 9:30pm); admission is $20.

Club Helsinki has bolstered its schedule with a batch of new shows, most notably Jagjaguwar recording artist Lia Ices, who is warming up for her Lollapalooza appearance with a show in Hudson on Friday, August 5. Also upcoming are Sister Sparrow & the Dirty Birds on Thursday, August 4; Chris & Lolly on Friday, August 12; and Joy Kills Sorrow on Friday, September 9.

There are a couple of new shows on the fall calendar at Northern Lights in Clifton Park. Bring Me the Horizon arrives at 7pm on Tuesday, September 20 with Parkway Drive, Architects, Deez Nuts and While She Sleeps in support. Priced at $18 in advance, tix go on sale at 10am on Friday. And Mmm-Bopsters Hanson return at 8pm on Wednesday, October 12. Priced at $25 in advance, tix go on sale at 10am on Saturday.

Post continues below...

Guitarslinger Johnny A has been named as the headliner for the annual Woodstock Guitar Festival hosted by Rennie Cantine at the Bearsville Theater in Woodstock. The event takes place at 8pm on Saturday, August 13, and tix are $20. Additional performers to be announced…

Also down in Woodstock, the Colony Cafe has bolstered its concert calendar with two shows on Saturday (July 9): jazz pianist Marilyn Crispell at 8pm and blues-rock guitarslinger Rhett Tyler at 10pm. Other shows in July include Liam Ó Maonlaí of the Hothouse Flowers at 8pm on Monday (July 11); Dean Batstone featuring John Platania at 9pm on Friday, July 15 ($10); and the double-bill of Andy Friedman and Jeffrey Foucault at 9pm on Saturday, July 16.

One more new show announced for Woodstock: The husband-and-wife Americana/roots music duo of Mike & Ruthy are slated to perform at the Kleinert James Arts Center at 8pm on Friday, July 29 as part of the World Beyond the Woods concert series. Tix are $15.

Sold out: If you haven’t already got your tix for Al Stewart at Caffe Lena in Saratoga Springs, it looks like your out of luck. The concert – slated for 7pm on Tuesday, August 2 – is sold out.

Comments are closed.

Holly & EvanCartoonist John CaldwellCaffe LenaJim Gaudet and the Railroad BoysThe Cock'N'Bull RestaurantAdvertise on Nippertown!Artist Charles HaymesLeave Regular Radio BehindAlbany PoetsThe LindaHudson SoundsBerkshire On StageThe Sanctuary For Independent Media