Teen TKTS Club @ Capital Repertory Theatre

September 16th, 2010, 2:01 pm by Greg

Capital Repertory Theatre

Capital Rep celebrated the launch of its 30th anniversary season last night with the opening night performance of Moises Kaufman’s “33 Variations.”

Like so many of the fine arts, theater companies are inventing new ways to counter the graying of their audiences and attract younger theatergoers.

Post continues below...
Advertisement

Capital Repertory Theater’s solution is a new Teen TKTS Club, which offers reduced-price tickets for all youngsters between the ages of 11-18.

Simply register online or in person at the theater, and students can purchase a ticket for any Capital Rep performance on the day of the show for just $10. (The lone exception is “A Christmas Story” which costs $15 for Teen TKTS members.) There is no fee to sign up.

“In an effort to draw more teenagers and their parents to the theater, we launched this program to make theater more affordable which will hopefully encourage teens to see more theater throughout the year,” says Capital Rep’s education coordinator Laura Andruski. “It’s important to introduce theater into the lives of young people at an early age as they will have an impact on the future of arts organizations like Capital Rep.”

“33 Variations” continues at Capital Rep through Sunday, October 3. Here’s the schedule for the rest of the 30th anniversary season:

Friday, October 22-Sunday, November 14: “Cactus Flower”
Saturday, November 27-Sunday, January 2: “A Christmas Story”
Friday, January 21-Sunday, February 13: “Shipwrecked!”
Friday, March 4-Sunday, April 3: “Crowns”
Friday, April 22-Sunday, May 15: “Kingdom of the Shore”
Friday, May 27-Sunday, June 19: “Blood Type: Ragu”