Comin’ Soon…

Yes, the horses have left Saratoga Springs, but there’s still plenty of action of the musical variety on tap in the Spa City – especially at Caffe Lena, whose fall calendar boasts a great line-up of shows. Some of the highlights include Ellis Paul on Sunday; Chris Smither of Friday, September 17; former October Project vocalist Mary Fahl on Sunday, September 19; John Doyle on Friday, October 8; Mary Gauthier on Wednesday, October 13; April Verch on Friday, October 15; the double-bill of Steve James and Cindy Cashdollar on Saturday, October 23; Eliza Gilkyson on Sunday, October 31; Eric Andersen on Sunday, November 7; the Battlefield Band on Thursday, November 11; and Kim Simmonds on Friday, November 19.

Sleigh Bells – the buzzworthy Brooklyn duo of guitarist Derek Miller and vocalist Alexis Krauss – will be ringin’ at Valentine’s Music Hall in Albany at 8pm on Thursday, September 30. Slated to go on sale at 10am on Friday, September 17, tix are priced at $10 in advance; $12 at the door. Also new on Valentine’s calendar is the double bill of Free Energy and Foxy Shazam at 8pm on Monday, November 22. Tix are $8 in advance; $10 at the door. Tix go on sale at 10am Friday.

Down in Woodstock, the Bearsville Theater has added two new primo shows to its calendar – acoustic blues queen Rory Block at 8pm on Thursday, October 7 ($20); and sublime singer-songwriter Jesse Winchester (with Bar Scott opening) at 9pm on Friday, October 29 ($25).

Post continues below...

The Linda in Albany has announced a batch of new shows for its fall concert calendar, including acoustic blues singer-songwriter Brooks Williams at 8pm Wednesday, October 20 ($18); Rani Arbo & daisy mayhem at 8pm Friday, November 5 ($17); Elizabeth Cook at 8pm Monday, November 8 ($17); Eilen Jewell at 8pm Saturday, November 13 ($17) and the return of the Chandler Travis Philharmonic at 8pm Saturday, November 20 ($17). SPECIAL NOTE: The Linda is now serving beer and wine at concert events.

R&B hitmaker Trey Songz drops into the Washington Avenue Armory in Albany at 8pm on Saturday, September 18, in support on his new album, “Passion, Pain & Pleasure,” which is slated for release earlier that week. Tix are $62 and $82.

Club Helsinki Hudson has added a pair of top-notch shows to its calendar for Halloween weekend. Celebrating the release of not one, not two, but three new CDs, Howard Fishman steps into the spotlight on Friday, October 29. Meanwhile, the mesmerizingly esoteric Tin Hat takes over Helsinki on Sunday, October 31.

In support of his album, “Shake What God Gave Ya” (slated for release on Tuesday), country hitmaker James Otto roars into Northern Lights in Clifton Park at 8:30pm on Thursday, November 4. On sale at 10am Saturday, tix are $16 in advance; $18 at the door.

Guitarist Charlie Hunter lands at the Van Dyck in Schenectady for two shows (7 & 9:30pm) on Saturday, October 23. Tix are $22 in advance; $26 at the door.

UPDATE: Last week, we gave you the unofficial scoop on the upcoming Allman Brothers Band concert at the Palace Theatre on Monday, November 15. Well, they’ve finally made it official. Showtime is 7pm, and tix are priced at $49.50, $59.50 and $150. Tix go on sale to the general public at 10am Friday.

POSTPONED: Due to the ever popular “scheduling conflicts,” 30 Seconds to Mars have postponed several dates of their current tour, including a stop at Northern Lights in Clifton Park, which was originally slated for Saturday, September 11. Look for the band to re-schedule a make-up for sometime in 2011.

CANCELLED: Brendan James has dropped off the bill for LarkFEST on Lark Street in Albany on Saturday, September 25. Of course, the big bash will go on without him. Charlie Watts Riots have been tapped to fill his slot… The concert by popular family bluegrass band the Doerfels – originally slated for 4pm on Sunday, September 19 at the Sterling and Francine Clark Art Institute in Williamstown – has also been cancelled.

IN CASE YOU MISSED IT: The Egg in Albany announced five more concerts late last week…

One Response to “Comin’ Soon…”

  1. TL says:

    Free Energy! Yeah! Their album “Stuck On Nothing” is in my Top Ten this year. Can’t wait to see them live. Power-pop with a cool ’70s rock vibe. If you like bands like Cheap Trick, Thin Lizzy and T-Rex you need to be at this one…

Caffe LenaThe Cock'N'Bull RestaurantCartoonist John CaldwellHolly & EvanJim Gaudet and the Railroad BoysAdvertise on Nippertown!Leave Regular Radio BehindHudson SoundsArtist Charles HaymesBerkshire On StageThe LindaAlbany PoetsThe Law Office of Paul Rapp