Comin’ Soon…

On Thursday, November 4, rock-minded jazz trio the Bad Plus pull into at Skidmore College’s Zankel Music Center in support of their recently released, first ever all-originals album, “Never Stop.”

In addition to previously announced fall shows by moe., Pretty Lights and Bullet for My Valentine, the Washington Avenue Armory in Albany will also be hosting the Caribbean Culture Fest at 8pm on Sunday, October 3, featuring Capleton and Munga. General admission tix are $30.

Post continues below...

The Linda in Albany has added a bunch of new shows to its fall calendar, including Flame on Friday, September 4 ($15); Beatlemania Again on Saturday, October 2 ($20); a cappella group Sonos on Friday, October 8 ($17); the wonderful Wiyos on Saturday, October 16 ($18) and Alex Torres & His Latin Orchestra on Saturday, October 30 ($TBA).

Rangda – featuring Sir Richard Bishop, Ben Chasny and Chris Corsano – headline a fundraising concert for community radio station WGXC-FM at the Cannonball Factory in Hudson at 8pm on Tuesday, August 31. Also on the bill are Major Stars and Bunnybrains. Tix are $7 in advance; $10 at the door.

There’s nothing official from The Egg yet, but it looks as though the Swyer Theater will be hosting a killer Celtic music double-bill on Saturday, October 23 featuring Maura O’Connell and Paul Brady.

Northern Lights in Clifton Park will be all a’twinkle this fall with a batch of new shows, including Sick Puppies with Self Needy Creatures and Fort Rooster on Wednesday, September 15 ($12.50; on sale Friday); Deftones on Tuesday, September 21 ($27.50; on sale Thursday); Soulive on Thursday, October 7 ($17; on sale Wednesday, September 8); Papa Roach with Skillet, Trapt and My Darkest Days on Friday, October 8 ($30; on sale Saturday); and We Are Scientists (UPDATE: The We Are Scientists show is at Valentine’s Music Hall) on Wednesday, October 13 ($12; on sale Thursday).

Jillian’s in Albany will be hosting the Alternate Routes on Friday, November 5. The Kin open the show. Tix are $10 in advance; $13 at the door.

Veteran popster Robbie Dupree & Friends step into the spotlight at the Bearsville Theater in Woodstock on Saturday, October 9.

ALSO NOTED: New Jersey rockers Steel Train will be joining in the festivies at the Yo Gabba Gabba! Live shows at the Times Union Center in Albany at 2 & 5pm on Thursday, September 2… Erin McKeown has been added as the opening act for the Ani DiFranco concert at Skidmore College’s Zankel Music Center on Sunday, September 26.

IN CASE YOU MISSED IT… Earlier this week, we also announced the line-up for LarkFEST on Albany’s Lark Street on Saturday, September 25; the schedule for Rest Fest at St. Joseph’s church this Saturday and Sunday; the line-up for a Gathering of Friends at Kaplan’s Farm in Millerton on Saturday; the line-up for the Albany Latinfest in Washington Park on Saturday; the upcoming 2010-2011 schedule of shows at the Eighth Step at Proctors in Schenectady.

One Response to “Comin’ Soon…”

  1. iamadog says:

    Maura O Connel/Paul Brady show at the Egg is listed on Paul’s wesbsite.

    23/10/2010 Albany NY Swyer Theater, The Egg, Empire State Plaza,
    Box Office: (518) 473 1845

Cartoonist John CaldwellJim Gaudet and the Railroad BoysHolly & EvanThe Cock'N'Bull RestaurantCaffe LenaAdvertise on Nippertown!Artist Charles HaymesAlbany PoetsLeave Regular Radio BehindThe LindaBerkshire On StageHudson SoundsDennis Herbert Art