Comin’ Soon…

Post continues below...

New supergroup Grizzly Adamz – featuring John Medeski, Jamie Saft, Danny Blume and Ben Perowsky – returns to Bearsville Theater in Woodstock at 9pm on Saturday, July 3. But that’s just one tidbit on Bearsville’s newly announced slate of shows. Take a look at these:

  • Jakob Dylan & Three Legs on Friday, July 9 ($40)
  • The double bill of Langhorn Slim and the Low Anthem at 8pm on Tuesday, July 20 ($12 in advance; $15 at the door)
  • “Appalachian Voices” featuring Yim Yames (of My Morning Jacket), Ben Sollee and Daniel Martin Moore on Thursday, July 29 (on sale 12noon Thursday)
  • Medeski, Martin & Wood at 8pm on Thursday, August 26 (Ticket prices TBA)
  • 3 with Terrible Things at 9pm on Saturday, August 28 (Ticket prices TBA)

And speaking of Yim Yames (aka, Jim James), his band My Morning Jacket is slated to roll into Mountain Park in Holyoke at 7pm on Wednesday, August 25. And, if memory serves us right, it just might be the band’s first show in Nippertown since their area debut at Northern Lights in Clifton Park way back in 2004. Regardless, August 24 now has a clear winner on the concert calendar – prior to the MMJ announcement, your choices for the evening’s musical entertainment was a total no-one-wins coin-flip between Justin Bieber @ the TU Center and Creed @ SPAC. Ouch. Priced at $36, tix for My Morning Jacket go on sale to the general public on Friday (with a portion of the proceeds donated to Womanshelter/Companeras, an organization dedicated to assisting, supporting and empowering those affected by battering and abuse. Another recent addition to the Mountain Park schedule of shows – MGMT at 7pm on Wednesday, August 11. Violens open the show. Tix are $30.

In the wake of Carol Burnett’s performance on Tuesday night, Proctors in Schenectady has announced that it will host long-time Burnett co-star Tim Conway at 8pm on Saturday, July 10. The five-time Emmy Award-winning comedian will be joined by Chuck McCann and Louise DuArt. Priced at $20, $40, $50 & $60, tix go on sale to the general public on Thursday.

Also new on Proctors’ concert schedule are Alice Cooper on Sunday, July 25; Johnny Mathis on Saturday, October 2; The Vienna Vegetable Orchestra on Friday, November 12; Red Baraat on Saturday, November 13; Uncle Rock on Sunday, November 14; Peter Yarrow & Noel Paul Stookey (of Peter, Paul & Mary) on Friday, November 19; Dead Cat Bounce on Saturday, January 15; Slavic Soul Party on Saturday, February 19; Piano Jazz Summit featuring Cedar Walton, Hiromi and Jacky Terrasson on Friday, April 1.

And the upcoming schedule of shows presented by the Eighth Step at Proctors includes the April Verch Band (Friday, November 5), Dala (Friday, November 19), the Chenille Sisters (Saturday, November 20), Magpie with Kim & Reggie Harris (Saturday, December 18), Frank Vignola (Friday, January 7), the Tartan Terrors (Saturday, January 8), Gandalf Murphy & the Slambovian Circus of Dreams (Saturday, March 26), Tom Rush (Saturday, April 9) and Gadelle (Friday, April 29).

Northern Lights in Clifton Park is inviting you to a party – a headbangin’ customer appreciation party with Drowning Pool and local faves Bulletproof Messenger, Stuck on Stupid and the Erotics. The date is Tuesday, May 25, and admission is free. That’s right – FREE. Other new shows on Northern Lights’ summer calendar include Rebelution on Thursday, July 15 ($15 – on sale 10am Saturday) and Shadows Fall with Chimaira and Winds of Plague on Monday, July 26 ($13 – on sale at 10am Saturday).

The Goo Goo Dolls pop into the Saratoga Performing Arts Center on Thursday, July 22. Switchfoot and the Spill Canvas open the show. Priced at $35, $45 and $65 for reserved seating and $20 for lawn admission, general public tix go on sale at 10am Saturday.

The intimate Charles Wood Theater in Glens Falls is playing host to singer-songwriter-radio rocker Richard Marx at 8pm on Saturday, May 29. Also upcoming at the Wood Theater are George Walsh with Mike LaPoint and Tom Burke (a benefit for the Glens Falls Hospital Foundation’s Center for Recovery) at 8pm on Friday, May 28 ($24); the Texas Tenors at 6 & 8:30pm on Monday, August 16 ($40); pianist Cody Michaels 8pm on Wednesday, August 18 ($14); bluegrass favorites Banjo Dan & the Midnight Plowboys at 8pm on Friday, August 20 ($18) and contemporary crooner Tony DeSare, who returns for a holiday homecoming fundraiser for the theater Friday-Sunday, November 26-28 ($45).

Sensational singer-songwriter Anais Mitchell – who just played at Caffe Lena in Saratoga Springs just this past Sunday evening – is already slated for a return trip to town, this time stopping her tour for a night at The Linda in Albany on Saturday, July 10.

Tony Award winner and six-time Emmy Award winner Tyne Daly brings her cabaret act to Barrington Stage Company in Pittsfield at 8pm on Thursday, September 2. Tix are currently available at $35, $45 and $75.

Club Helsinki Hudson is extending its pre-official opening Sound Check Event series into June. The latest addition to the calendar is Sarah Borges & the Broken Singles, who will ride in at 9pm on Saturday, June 12. Tix are $15.

The following shows are SOLD OUT:
The Dave Matthews Band @ SPAC, Friday, June 4
The Dave Matthews Band @ SPAC, Saturday, June 5
Jeff Beck @ Ulster Performing Arts Center, Thursday, June 17
Phish @ SPAC, Saturday, June 19
James Taylor & Carole King @ Tanglewood, Saturday, July 3
James Taylor & Carole King @ Tanglewood, Sunday, July 4
Audra McDonald @ Tanglewood, Sunday, July 18

There are LAWN TICKETS ONLY left for the following shows:
Phish @ SPAC, Sunday, June 20

One Response to “Comin’ Soon…”

  1. LiLi says:

    RE: In the wake of Carol Burnett’s performance on Tuesday night, Proctors in Schenectady has announced that it will host long-time Burnett co-star Tim Conway

    Somehow missed the part about Carol before, would have liked to have seen her. Loved her show — especially the part where they did Mama’s family. Tim Conway was always a favorite too. I always think of the skits where he played Mr. Tuttle. Just the other day I was thinking of the show where they did “Gone With The Wind” and Carol wore the green curtains with the curtain rod. Too bad TV isn’t that good these days.

Caffe LenaHolly & EvanCartoonist John CaldwellThe Cock'N'Bull RestaurantJim Gaudet and the Railroad BoysAdvertise on Nippertown!Leave Regular Radio BehindAlbany PoetsArtist Charles HaymesBerkshire On StageThe LindaHudson SoundsThe Law Office of Paul Rapp