Comin’ Soon…

Looks like some serious music action bubbling up not too far over the Mass. border:



MASS MoCA in North Adams just threw down the biggest news of the summer as host of the Solid Sound Festival, a new, three-day bash to be headlined and curated by Wilco from Friday-Sunday, August 13-15. And don’t forget to check our daily Festival Fever stories for other cool stuff like the Green River Festival in Greenfield, which was also announced this week.

So far, Mountain Park in Holyoke only has two shows on tap this summer, but they’re doozies. Jam-band superheroes moe. slide in for a concert at 5pm on Sunday, June 27. Priced at $27.50, tickets go on sale on Friday. Then at 7pm on Saturday, July 24, Mountain Park will be shaking to the sounds of the Flaming Lips. Fellow psychedelic Oklahomans (and former Flaming Lips road crew) Stardeath and White Dwarfs open the show. Tickets are currently on sale for $37.50.

Post continues below...

The Mahaiwe Performing Arts Center in Great Barrington, Mass. has added several diverse performances to its summer schedule. Coming up are Zappa Plays Zappa on Saturday, July 3 ($52, $67); Tower of Power on Sunday, August 1 ($47, $57) and Broadway legend Elaine Stritch on Sunday, August 15 ($62, $87). Tix for all three new shows are slated to go on sale to the general public on Saturday.

Pretty Lights

Pretty Lights (photo by Cory Giacalone)

In addition to the Public Image Ltd. show that we told you about a couple of weeks ago, Pearl Street in Northampton is also hosting a couple of summer re-runs of shows that were recently here in town: Pretty Lights on Thursday, June 3 and Ingrid Michaelson on Friday, June 18.

The Colonial Theatre in Pittsfield, Mass. announced its upcoming season of shows, which we published last Friday. Go here to check out the wildly diverse concert calendar that stretches from sublime cabaret singer Ute Lemper to headbangers Blue Oyster Cult, with shows by Ani DiFranco, Rosanne Cash, Rusted Root and Los Lonely Boys along the way. Tix for all shows went on sale today.

Mark Mulcahy

Mark Mulcahy

And, of course, the Iron Horse Music Hall in Northampton always has something interesting on tap. A few of the upcoming shows that caught our eyes are Raul Malo on Tuesday, April 13; Neil Innes on Sunday, April 18; an Alex Chilton tribute show featuring Chris Collingwood (of Fountains of Wayne), Mark Mulcahy, Winterpills and more on Saturday, April 24; Shelby Lynne on Friday, May 7; Paula Cole on Sunday, May 23; the James Hunter Band on Tuesday, June 22; Justin Townes Earle on Friday, July 30; Jim Kweskin and Geoff Muldaur on Friday, September 3. Wow!

Updates on some shows that we announced previously:

Since our last Comin’ Soon… round-up, last Wednesday we announced John Mayer and Train for SPAC on Sunday, August 8.

And on Monday, we announced that Neil Young would kick off his solo tour with Bert Jansch at the Palace Theatre on Tuesday, May 18. And yeah, tix are $149.50 and $99.50, so be prepared to break into your piggybank when tix go on sale at 10am Saturday.

Back on March 26 we announced the O.A.R. show at SPAC for Sunday, August 1, and now the folks at Live Nation finally got around to making it official. Citizen Cope will open the show. All reserved seats are $36; lawn tix are $22. Tix will go on sale to the general public at 4pm Friday.

And some hot, fresh, new announcements, too:

The Bearsville Theater in Woodstock is starting to heat up for the summer season with new shows by Blues and Lazers (led by Grace Potter & the Nocturnals’ guitarist Scott Tournet) with Jess Klein (Friday, May 7), the Marco Benevento Trio with Charlie Hunter (Friday, June 18) and the Terry Adams Rock & Roll Quartet (Saturday, June 19).

Del Ray

Del Ray

Acoustic blues queen Del Rey heads into Old Songs in Voorheesville for a concert at 8pm on Wednesday, April 21. Tix are $20. While she’s here, she’ll also be offering a ukulele workshop at 6pm.

The Devil Wears Prada was just in town last month at Northern Lights, but they’re coming back for a two-night stand at Valentine’s Music Hall in Albany on Friday-Saturday, July 9-10. Miss May I and Your Demise open. Also at Valentine’s are Strike Anywhere and Bane on Friday, June 18 with Touche Amore and Lowtalker opening. Tix for both shows go on sale at 10am Saturday. Meanwhile, tix go on sale at 10am on Thursday for Just Surrender and Comic Book Heroes on Thursday, May 13.

Northern Lights in Clifton Park hosts the double-bill of Attack! Attack! and Parkway Drive on Monday, July 12. Pierce the Veil and Rick Whispers open. Advance tix ($16) go on sale at 10am Saturday. And country music renegade David Allan Coe will be riding back into Northern Lights on Saturday, June 12. Tix are currently on sale for $23 in advance.

The following shows are SOLD OUT:
Joe Bonamassa @ The Egg, Tuesday, April 20
Brand New @ Northern Lights, Wednesday, April 28
Korn @ Northern Lights, Thursday, May 6
The Dave Matthews Band @ SPAC, Saturday, June 5
James Taylor & Carole King @ Tanglewood, Saturday, July 3
James Taylor & Carole King @ Tanglewood, Sunday, July 4
Audra McDonald @ Tanglewood, Sunday, July 18

There are LAWN TICKETS ONLY left for the following shows:
The Dave Matthews Band @ SPAC, Friday, June 4
Phish @ SPAC, Saturday, June 19
Phish @ SPAC, Sunday, June 20

2 Responses to “Comin’ Soon…”

  1. Bolton says:

    Rumor has it that Alice Cooper will be returning to Proctors in May. Tkts do not appear to be on sale yet though.

  2. Kathy says:

    Such great shows coming… so exciting! Neil Young @ The Palace in May… way cool and way expensive ;-)! and one of my all time favorites Blue Oyster Cult coming to The Colonial in Mass in October – (I am already there!) Any chance for a Blot and Blue reunion… hint, hint ;-) please, please ;-). Nippertown thank you for the great service you provide – you rock!

Caffe LenaHolly & EvanThe Cock'N'Bull RestaurantCartoonist John CaldwellJim Gaudet and the Railroad BoysAdvertise on Nippertown!Hudson SoundsThe LindaAlbany PoetsLeave Regular Radio BehindBerkshire On StageArtist Charles HaymesCapital District Habitat For Humanity