Comin’ Soon…

Still bummed that Nuclear Power Pants (best band name since the Bad Livers?) weren’t able to make to either of the two dates that they were originally booked to play at EMPAC? Yeah, us too! But just like Elton&Billy, maybe the third time really will be the charm. Baltimore’s NPP now appear to be slated to slip into Upstate Artists Guild in Albany at 7pm on Tuesday, April 20. Sharing the “stage” will be Girls of Porn, Outdates and Height. Best of all? Admission is $5.

Better start limbering up now… We’re not saying that it’s definite, but it sure looks like the King of Twist, Mr. Chubby Checker himself will be twisting his way into Albany’s Riverfront Park for a free Alive @ 5 concert on Thursday, June 10. We sure hope he brings along some of his Chubby Checker Beef Jerky for the merch table. Yum…

The Maverick Concert Hall – an intimate little outdoor venue in the middle of the woods in Woodstock – has announced its 2010 summer season of performances. Most of the concerts are from the world of classical music, but they also drop in a smattering of other shows, and this year’s calendar also features concerts by folk vet Happy Traum (6pm Saturday, July 10), master bamboo flutist and sax player Steve Gorn & Friends (6pm Saturday, July 17) and the marvelous jazz pianist-composer Fred Hersch (6pm Saturday, August 21). Reserved seats are $40; general admission is $25; students $5; children under 12 free.

Post continues below...

New adds to the calendar at Northern Lights in Clifton Park include Dirty Heads on Tuesday, May 4 ($10.27 in advance; $12 at the door) and Puddle of Mudd on Sunday, May 16 ($25). Tix for both shows go on sale on Saturday.

Valentine’s Music Hall in Albany welcomes Greg Ginn & the Taylor Texas Corrugators with Robo France and Cinema, Cinema on Monday, April 26 ($8), the Whigs on Saturday, May 1 ($10.27 in advance; $12 at the door), MC Chris with Math the Band on Wednesday, May 5 ($11 in advance; $13 at the door).

Meanwhile, Jillian’s in Albany is keeping things interesting with such recent additions to their concert calendar as Jesse Malin with the Slaughterhouse Chorus (Friday, April 16), a free post-Tulip Fest show with the Joy Formidable (Saturday, May 8) and those oldie “Sex and Candy” boys Marcy Playground (Friday, May 21).


The following shows are SOLD OUT:
Kool & the Gang @ Vapor, Saratoga Springs, April 1
David Gray @ The Egg, Monday, April 5
Joe Bonamassa @ The Egg, Tuesday, April 20
Korn @ Northern Lights, Thursday, May 6
The Dave Matthews Band @ SPAC, Saturday, June 5
James Taylor & Carole King @ Tanglewood, Saturday, July 3
James Taylor & Carole King @ Tanglewood, Sunday, July 4

There are LAWN TICKETS ONLY left for the following shows:
The Dave Matthews Band @ SPAC, Friday, June 4

2 Responses to “Comin’ Soon…”

  1. LiLi says:

    Ooh, Chubby Checker! Hope so and I’d be able to go to it. Will stay tuned to see the schedule…

  2. JES says:

    I saw the Bad Livers open for Butthole Surfers in DC circa 1987 . . . a great band name for a great band. Their bluegrass assault on “Ace of Spades” was to die for . . .

Holly & EvanCaffe LenaThe Cock'N'Bull RestaurantCartoonist John CaldwellJim Gaudet and the Railroad BoysAdvertise on Nippertown!Berkshire On StageAlbany PoetsThe LindaLeave Regular Radio BehindHudson SoundsArtist Charles HaymesDennis Herbert Art