Fall shows @ Sanctuary for Independent Media

We reported last week about the inaugural event of the Sanctuary for Independent Media‘s fall season, and now here’s the rest of the event schedule:

Saturday, September 26, 7pm: Screening of “Where Are You Go” plus live music by Restys, My Survival Kit and Charlie Don’t Surf

Friday, October 2, 7pm: Screening of “The Baader Meinhof Complex”

Tuesday, October 6, 7pm: Screening of “The Yes Men Fix The World” with filmmaker Mike Bonanno

Saturday, October 17, 8pm: Screening of “Workers’ Republic” with filmmaker Andrew Freund

Thursday, October 22, 7pm: Screening of “Orgasmic Birth” with panel discussion

Friday, October 30, 7pm: Special event “Front Lines: Words of Choice,” a reading from the acclaimed new book “Front Lines: Book of Plays,” a discussion with editor Alexis Greene, as well as a creativity workshop based on reproductive rights issues led by “Words of Choice” creator Cindy Cooper

Saturday, November 7, 2pm (screenings), 6pm (potluck dinner), 9pm (music): Indymedia 10th Anniversary Film Festival, plus concert by Iranian-American singer-songwriter Haale

Wednesday, November 11, 7pm: Gallery opening “Evidence and Fantasy: Militarism in American Life” by photographer Nina Berman with a Veterans Day Poetry Reading featuring David Smith-Ferri and members of Albany Veterans for Peace

Saturday, November 14, 8pm: Three-time Nobel Peace Prize nominee Kathy Kelly leads “Community Response to the Casualties of War.”

Friday, November 20, 7pm: “The River Runs Both Ways: Reconsidering Dutch Exploration,” featuring a screening of Vincent Monnikendam’s award-winning “Mother Dao the Turtlelike,” followed by discussion

Saturday, December 5, 8pm: Screening of “Captured” with filmmaker Dan Levin

Saturday, December 12, 8pm: “Live From Lock One” featuring performances by some of the Capital Region’s top gospel music talents, hosted by the Heavenly Echoes Gospel Singers

Tags: , , , , ,

Comments are closed.

Jim Gaudet and the Railroad BoysThe Cock'N'Bull RestaurantHolly & EvanCaffe LenaCartoonist John CaldwellAdvertise on Nippertown!Artist Charles HaymesThe LindaAlbany PoetsHudson SoundsBerkshire On StageLeave Regular Radio BehindCapital District Habitat For Humanity