Comin’ soon…

September 2nd, 2009, 11:43 am by Greg

Chris Shaw and Bridget Ball

Chris Shaw and Bridget Ball

It’s a veritable concert cornucopia at The Egg in Albany this year. Yet another big batch of shows has just been announced for the 2009-2010 season. Highlights include Dar Williams with the Nields (Saturday, October 24), comedian, late night talk show host and former Metroland receptionist Jimmy Fallon (Saturday, November 21), the Derek Trucks Band (Sunday, December 13), Dan Zanes & Friends (Saturday, January 23), Karla Bonoff and Janis Ian (Sunday, April 18) and Dan Hicks & His Hot Licks with John Hammond (Friday, April 23). And after a long run at the Troy Savings Bank Music Hall, Chris Shaw and Bridget Ball‘s annual holiday concert “Mountain Snow and Mistletoe” has left Troy, headed across the river and landed at The Egg for shows on Saturday and Sunday, December 12-13. Tix for all of these newly announced shows at The Egg will go on sale to the general public on Friday, September 4.

Willie Nile

Willie Nile

German prog-ambient-industrial legends Faust land at the GE Theatre at Proctors in Schenectady on Wednesday, September 30, co-sponsored by the Albany Sonic Arts Collective.

Post continues below...
Advertisement

The Linda in Albany has bolstered its upcoming concert calendar, as well, adding a Honky Tonk Holiday show with original Lost Planet Airmen Bill Kirchen and John Tichy (Saturday, December 5), local favorites Flame (Friday, December 11) and the return of superb singer-songwriter Willie Nile (Saturday, January 23).

The College of St. Rose in Albany is hosting a number of concerts at the Massry Center for the Arts this fall including “Music and Memories: An Evening With the Legendary Johnny Mandel” featuring Sherrie Maricle and the DIVA Jazz Orchestra with Ann Hampton Calloway (Saturday, September 26), the Dave Brubeck Quartet (Wednesday, October 14) and Kleztory (Saturday, October 24).

We’re not foolin’ around when we say that Caffe Lena in Saratoga Springs has a fabulous month of shows booked for September. In fact, it seems as though almost every single date is a solid winner, so you’ve got plenty of great choices. A few of the highlights include superb singer-songwriter John Gorka (Friday, September 11), mandolin master Frank Wakefield (Saturday, September 12), Peter Mulvey (Sunday, September 20), Cajun country twangmasters the Doc Marshalls (Saturday, September 26) and the sublime Rosalie Sorrells (Sunday, September 27).

Ghostface Killah (Photo by Roxanne Jo Mitchell)

Ghostface Killah (Photo by Roxanne Jo Mitchell)

The big crowd-pleaser at June’s River Street Festival, Mike Doughty lands just down the street at Revolution Hall in Troy on Wednesday, November 18. Once again, he’ll be going acoustic with his “Question Jar Show,” and Rev Hall will have seating (general admission) rather than an open standing/dancing space, so tickets – which will go on sale on Friday, September 4 – will be limited. Also new on Rev Hall’s calendar is Deer Tick, representing the tiny but mighty state of Rhode Island on Wednesday, November 4.

Christian singer-songwriter Michael W. Smith headlines when the New Hallelujah World Tour makes a stop at the Washington Avenue Armory in Albany on Saturday, November 21.

Ghostface Killah grabs the mic and steps into the spotlight at Northern Lights in Clifton Park on Friday, October 2. Tix go on sale on Saturday, September 5.