Comin’ soon…

Japanese noisemakers the Boredoms team up with Deerhunter in a double-bill at EMPAC at RPI in Troy on Friday, September 11.

At another college campus in Troy, Brooklyn indie trio Elizabeth & the Catapult make a tour stop at Hudson Valley Community College on Friday, September 25.

Super 400

Super 400

Also in Troy, raging power trio Super 400 will be holding their CD release party for “Sweet Fist” at Revolution Hall on Friday, September 11. Matthew Loiacono will open the show.

The Linda in Albany has upped the ante for the November concert calendar with a couple of new additions. Irish folk-pop duo Guggenheim Grotto returns on Friday, November 13, while indie singer-songwriter Grant Lee Phillips teams up with Winterpills for a dynamite double-bill on Saturday, November 14.

Natalie Merchant – the former frontwoman with 10,000 Maniacs – will be offering a special benefit concert at the 1848 Shaker Meeting House in Colonie at 1:30pm Sunday, September 27. The concert is a benefit for the Shaker Heritage Society, and tickets will go on sale at 9:30am Saturday (August 22), priced at $150, $75 and $50.

Apparently, the less-than-gangbusters ticket sales for this summer’s back-to-back shows by John Legend and Maxwell hasn’t given the Palace Theatre cold feet about booking more R&B acts. The Palace has just announced R. Kelly for Saturday, October 10. Tix go on sale to the general public on Friday (August 21).

Following her July performances, cabaret singer-songwriter Amanda McBroom returns to Pittsfield, Mass. for a two-night stand at the Barrington Stage Company’s Stage 2 on Friday-Saturday, October 23-24.



There are a batch of new shows on the calendar for Northern Lights in Clifton Park, including the Veronicas on Saturday, October 3, 3 Inches of Blood on Sunday, October 11 and Kittie on Thursday, October 29. Tix for those shows go on sale at 10am on Saturday, August 22.

Meanwhile, Boys Like Girls, Cobra Starship, the Mayne and others drop into Northern Lights on Wednesday, November 18. Tix go on sale at 12noon on Saturday, August 22. Also currently available are tix for the Insane Clown Posse on Tuesday, December 8.

But it’s not all good news at Northern Lights – unfortunately, Placebo has been forced to cancel their U.S. tour – including the date that was scheduled for Northern Lights on Saturday, October 10.

Guitar guru Charlie Hunter rolls into Red Square in Albany on Thursday, September 10.

Chiodos vocalist Craig Owens grabs the stage at Valentine’s Music Hall in Albany on Friday, September 18.

Tags: , ,

Comments are closed.

Jim Gaudet and the Railroad BoysThe Cock'N'Bull RestaurantHolly & EvanCartoonist John CaldwellCaffe LenaAdvertise on Nippertown!Artist Charles HaymesAlbany PoetsLeave Regular Radio BehindHudson SoundsThe LindaBerkshire On StageCapital Repertory Theater