Comin’ soon…

Alt-popster Ben Folds steps into the spotlight at The Egg in Albany on Wednesday, October 7. Tix are on sale now.

Meanwhile, tickets won’t go on sale to the general public until Friday August 7 for the rest of the newly announced shows at The Egg, but start saving yer pennies because there are a bunch of great shows lined up, including Bruce Hornsby and the Noisemakers (Thursday, October 1), the Nitty Gritty Dirt Band (Thursday, October 8), Playing For Change (Saturday, October 24), Stephen Kellogg & the Sixers with Jeffrey Gaines (Friday, October 30), Guy Clark with Elizabeth Cook (Sunday, November 1), John Prine (Saturday, November 7), the Del McCoury Band (Sunday, November 15), Hal Ketchum (Saturday, November 21), the subdudes (Saturday, December 5), Over the Rhine with Vienna Teng (Sunday, December 6) and Joe Bonamassa (Tuesday, April 20).

And the line-up for the annual free Albany Jazz Festival has been announced, too. Taking place in Albany’s Riverfront Park on Saturday, September 12, the fest features the Lee Shaw Trio, the Dan Loomis Quartet, the Dirty Dozen Brass Band, Lizz Wright and the Joe Lovano Us Five.

New shows on the calendar at Northern Lights in Clifton Park include AFI (Thursday, October 8) and punk vets Social Distortion (Tuesday, October 13). Tix for both go on sale Saturday, August 1.

Irish rockers Bell X1 will be making their eagerly awaited Nippertown debut at the Bearsville Theater in Woodstock on Saturday, September 19.

And in another Bearsville concert update, Dave Mason has dropped off the bill of the “Roots of Woodstock” show on Saturday, August 15. In his stead, however, will be the reunited Blues Magoos, joining the previously announced blues guitar greats Hubert Sumlin and Ellen McIlwaine.

It’s a solid week for comedy announcements, too, including Bo Burnham at The Egg on Saturday, September 26. That’s the same night that Margaret Cho is also at The Egg, which likely makes this the first date that The Egg will feature stand-up comedy in both of its theaters on the same evening.

Want more laughs? Think you can stump the Joke Man? Well, come on up to Northern Lights in Clifton Park on Saturday, September 19 for a little post-LarkFest ho-ho-ho-down with the one and only Jackie “The Joke Man” Martling.

He’s so funny that you can’t even see his lips move. These days if you say the word “ventriloquist” only one name comes to mind – Jeff Dunham, who will take the stage at the Glens Falls Civic Center on Saturday, October 24. Random thought: Has anyone written a book titled “Ventriloquism for Dummies”?

Comments are closed.

Caffe LenaJim Gaudet and the Railroad BoysCartoonist John CaldwellHolly & EvanThe Cock'N'Bull RestaurantAdvertise on Nippertown!Leave Regular Radio BehindArtist Charles HaymesHudson SoundsBerkshire On StageAlbany PoetsThe LindaAustralian Cattle Dog Rescue Association